Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Allegaeon: Proponent for Sentience

Melodic & progressive death metal act Allegaeon have had a relationship with Metal Blade Records since 2009, and the Colorado band have dished out a few strong releases since, with their latest Proponents for Sentience perhaps also being their best. The band, comprised of Riley McShane (Vocals), Greg Burgess (Guitar), Michael Stancel (Guitar), Corey Archuleta (Bass), and Brandon Park (Drums), have taken their sci-fi themed lyrical ideas and housed them within a framework of crushing death metal with a healthy dose of prog. Quite technical in spots with plenty of shredding guitar solos, intricate riffs and dynamic rhythms, Proponent for Sentience though isn't a non-stop assault of uber technicality, as the songs are indeed quite memorable and consistently 'metal'. "From Nothing" grabs the listener with fantastic riffs and McShane's mix of guttural growls & maniacal screams, while "Gray Matter Mechanics - Appassonata Ex Machinea" tosses up some gorgeous acoustic guitars & atmosphere before the sizzling lead guitars and acrobatic drumming kick in for a wild progressive metal party. "Of Mind and Matrix" is wonderfully melodic, and the huge, sweeping keyboard orchestrations on the three-part title track sections bring to mind Emperor as well as Dimmu Borgir at their most cinematic.

Epic and quite adventurous, Proponent for Sentience is quite the achievement for Allegaeon, and one of the better progressive death metal albums I've heard here in 2016. Kudos to the band for also tackling the classic Rush track "Subdivisions" on the album, their rendition packed with power, staying true to the original arrangement but also giving it their own spin, with McShane showing off his potent clean vocals. Well done!

Track Listing

  1. Proponent For Sentience I - The Conception
  2. All Hail Science
  3. From Nothing
  4. Gray Matter Mechanics - Appassonata Ex Machinea
  5. Of Mind and Matrix
  6. Proponent For Sentience II - The Algorithm
  7. Demons of an Intricate Design
  8. Terrathaw and the Quake
  9. Cognitive Computations
  10. The Arbiters
  11. Proponent For Sentience III - The Extermination
  12. Subdivisions

Added: September 25th 2016
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1567
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by