Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pittman, Monte: Inverted Grasp of Balance

Veteran guitarist/singer/songwriter Monte Pittman has already had a pretty fruitful career, not only as guitarist in Prong but also an important role in Madonna's band over the last 15 years. His third solo album, Inverted Grasp of Balance (Metal Blade Records), shows the guitarist diving headfirst into aggressive thrash, letting everyone know that metal indeed does flow through his veins. Along with drummer Richard Christy (Charred Walls of the Damned/Iced Earth/Death/Control Denied) and bassist Billy Sheehan (Winery Dogs/Mr Big/David Lee Roth/Talas), Pittman has put together a dozen tracks here steeped in metallic might, long on furious riffs, blazing solos, and acrobatic rhythms. While there isn't anything groundbreaking on display, Inverted Grasp of Balance is certainly enjoyable, tracks such as "Guilty Pleasure", "Panic Attack", "Pride Comes Before the Fall", and the rumbling, groove laden crusher "California" providing for plenty of fireworks, especially the latter which sees Sheehan putting on a clinic. Pittman has a decent enough voice, reminding at times of a less harsh Chuck Billy from Testament or even a more melodic James Hetfield of Metallica fame, and his style fits the music just fine. Lots of heavy riffs and screaming pinch harmonics permeate "Be Very Afraid", and Christy's jaw dropping drum work drives the thrashy instrumental "Obliterated". I'd love to hear more instrumental fare like this from Pittman, a wild tune that also includes some nasty riffing and shredding solos, with Sheehan's menacing bass lines quaking underneath.

Very solid stuff here overall for any fan of classic metal and thrash,as Monte Pittman once again shows the world he certainly has a bright career ahead of himself if his gig with Madonna ever comes to an end.

Track Listing

  1. Panic Attack
  2. Arisen in Broad Daylight
  3. Guilty Pleasure
  4. The Times Are Changing
  5. Double Edged Sword
  6. Cadabra
  7. Pride Comes Before the Fall
  8. California
  9. Be Very Afraid
  10. Obliterated
  11. Skeleton Key
  12. New Blood Keeps Us Alive

Added: September 25th 2016
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist Facebook Page
Hits: 1249
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by