Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Brainstorm: Memorial Roots (Re-Rooted)

Originally released in 2009 I have always considered Memorial Roots to be one of Brainstorm's most consistent albums especially when compared to their later recordings. As such Memorial Roots Is the one that I've gone back to the most with so many cracking tracks like "The Conjunction Of 7 Planets" and "Victim". I'll admit that I was somewhat surprised to read that the band was revisiting the mix on this album, as while I can think of quite a few albums by other groups that are in need of a rework in the sound department I didn't really have an issue with the sound of the original. It would appear that others did though, and the band took on board the feedback received from those who thought the album needed a more powerful/aggressive sound.

So what you get here is that original album, plus the two bonus tracks and another version of opening number Forsaken What I Believed. You can read our reviews of the original for more information on the tracks as it's the mix that has been changed for the "Re-Eooted" version. I'm sure that those that wanted change will be most happy with the results as Memorial Roots (Re-Rooted) does have a more power packed/refined sound than the original, the cover art has also been altered though not drastically. Ultimately the question that has to be asked is do you really need this revamped version? Well that depends if you need two copies or must have everything that this potent melodic power metal group have to offer, and if you don't have the original then you now have the beefed up alternative. I may order a hard copy at some stage though there are so many NEW albums on my radar and honestly I'm quite happy with the 2009 version. But really whatever you decide you can't go wrong as Memorial Roots is such a great Brainstorm album.

Track Listing
1. Forsake What I Believed
2. Shiver
3. The Conjunction Of 7 Planets
4. Cross The Line
5. Nailed Down Dreams
6. Blood Still Stains
7. Ahimsa
8. The Final Stages Of Decay
9. Victim
10. When No One Cares
11. Would You
12. Seems To Be Perfect
13. Too late To Deny
14. Nothing
15. Honesty
16. Forsake What I Believed (Edit)

Added: September 24th 2016
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1607
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by