Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Gemini Syndrome: Memento Mori

Memento Mori is the sophomore release from the Alt Metal band, Gemini Syndrome. This new album features 15 tracks that blend Alternative, Modern Metal with a slight Industrial twinge and coupled with big hooks and choruses. Memento Mori is the follow up to their Lux release and some things have changed and some have stayed the same.

With Memento Mori, Gemini Syndrome have lightened up their grip a tad and have opted for a more melodic approach to their songwriting. Along with a more explorative direction, Gemini Syndrome takes this next step but also makes things a bit more predictable and less unique. Songs like "On Point" and "Zealot" both are highlights with good riffing and attitude, but I can't help but feel that I've seen this before. Part Sevendust, part Disturbed, part Five Finger Death Punch, Gemini Syndrome definitely drink from that same fountain. Now don't get me wrong, I don't think this band or album are bad, per se, just not as original as the hype will let you to believe.

Vocal delivery on Memento Mori is much more "mainstream" and "commercial" than on the last disc Lux and this is a large part of the more melodic, less intense feel of this new record. Songs like "Sorry Not Sorry" and "Remember We Die" both have that Radio friendly appeal to them, with their big sweeping chorus' and watered down approach.

Memento Mori is the second in the bands conceptual, concept idea and while I can see the allure to some, I found this album to be just okay. Nothing really stood out and grabbed me and I couldn't see myself playing this record very often. Having said that, the record is very well produced and sonically pleasing. Overall, I found this record to be lacking in anything really ear catching and also found it to not grab my attention very much.

Track Listing
1. Anonymous
2. Remember We Die
3. Zealot
4. Gravedigger
5. On Point
6. La Devastante Veritá
7. Sorry Not Sorry
8. Eternity
9. Alive Inside
10. Inception
11. Lucido Somnium
12. Say Goodnight
13. Awaken
14. Ordo ab Chao
15. Brought To Light

Added: September 24th 2016
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1371
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by