Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Soilwork: Death Resonance

The legendary Swedish Melodic Death Metaller's, Soilwork, have released a very special collection of rarities and 2 new tracks entitled, Death Resonance (Nuclear Blast Records). This 15 track collection contains rare gems that have been very rarely released, dating back to the 2005 Stabbing The Drama era.

Clocking in at over an hours worth of music, Death Resonance delivers the new, the old and the rare in true Soilwork fashion, with the physical CD version containing rare unreleased photos and liner notes written by the band themselves. A must for the manic Soilwork fan. The CD packaging is a perfect compliment to this release, with the cover art being made by Mnemic guitarist, Mircea Gabriel, it stands as a link between life and death, as it captures the state of being of where the band is today. The cover art is hauntingly beautiful.

The two new Soilwork songs featured on this compilation are "Helsinki" and the title track "Death Resonance". Both songs are perfect representations of what the band is all about. "Death Resonance" is riff heavy with that Swedish, infectious melodic hook and "Helsinki" opens the record a slow building intro that explodes into a breakneck speed paced romp, that finds Bjorn "Speed" Strid's great vocals in top form. These two tracks are a good combination of the past 11 yrs with a glimpse into the future, as well. In other words, they sound like classic Soilwork! Rarities included range from Japanese only bonus tracks to limited edition remixes to limited edition box set inclusions now all neatly packaged into one excellent package.

The 15 tracks included on Soilwork's Death Resonance are a special collection of unreleased and rare finds that diehards will be happy to find neatly packaged in this great release. Soilwork have long been one of the true Swedish leaders of the fantastic music that has been exported out of Sweden since the mid to late 90's and this release is a good one, albeit it only contains two new songs, but the rare B sides and bonus tracks will be found treasures to most and that makes this a special release.

Track Listing:
01. Helsinki (new song)
02. Death Resonance (new song)
03. The End Begins Below The Surface ("The Ride Majestic" Japan bonus track)
04. My Nerves, Your Everyday Tool ("Beyond The Inifite" Japan-only EP)
05. These Absent Eyes ("Beyond The Inifite" Japan-only EP)
06. Resisting The Current ("Beyond The Inifite" Japan-only EP)
07. When Sound Collides ("Beyond The Inifite" Japan-only EP)
08. Forever Lost In Vain ("Beyond The Inifite" Japan-only EP)
09. Sweet Demise ("The Panic Broadcast" Japan bonus track)
10. Sadistic Lullabye (re-recorded, "The Panic Broadcast" Japan bonus track)
11. Overclocked (2016 mix, "Sworn A Great Divide" Japan bonus track)
12. Martyr (2016 mix, "Sworn A Great Divide" Japan bonus track)
13. Sovereign (2016 mix, "Sworn A Great Divide" Japan bonus track)
14. Wherever Thorns May Grow (2016 mix, "Stabbing The Drama" Japan bonus track)
15. Killed By Ignition (2016 mix, "Stabbing The Drama" Japan bonus track)

Added: September 21st 2016
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1917
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by