Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Kuolemanlaakso: M. Laakso—Vol. 1: The Gothic Tapes

This album requires a little explanation: for starters, it's not a typical Kuolemanlaakso album and it's not death doom metal. As the title suggests, this album is really a solo effort by Laakso, the driving force behind Kuolemanlaakso.

The music here can roughly be described as Gothic. That term is highly variable, of course, but the sound here is somewhat familiar. It's mostly dark and heavy but played at a slow tempo and performed with rich deep vocals that suit the lyrics here very well. It's often melodic in catchy and engaging ways but not all fans will be drawn to this sound. I thought it was entertaining but this style isn't as appealing to me as the aforementioned death doom metal. Still, I admire Laakso's efforts to widen his songwriting talents. Check out "Roll the Dice with the Devil."

These songs are performed in English but Laaskso has made it clear that Finnish is officially the language of his projects outside of Kuloemanlaakso.

Track Listing:
1. Children of the Night
2. Roll the Dice with the Devil
3. Where the River Runs Red
4. The World's Intolerable Pain
5. She Guides Me in My Dreams
6. No Absolution
7. Deeper into the Unknown
8. My Last Words

Added: September 12th 2016
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1572
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by