Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sophe Lux & The Mystic: All Are One

Gwynneth Haynes is the former front-woman of the band Sophe Lux, but with that outfit no longer, the enigmatic singer buried herself in mystic teachings and took on board the musings of Gandhi, Martin Luther King, Bucky Fuller, Rumi and Aurobindo (an eclectic bunch, you'll agree). Hence her return as the more band sounding Sophe Lux & The Mystic is actually Haynes' first solo album. Here she handles all manner of gizmos and gadgets (nord, korg, synths, moogs, B-3 organ, drum loops, drum machines, piano, vocal layers, vocal and string arrangements, cuddly toy and car mechanics (the last two are of course true, but not during the recording sessions…)). That she's also an undiscovered vocalist of the highest order, is where impressive moves into the almost ridiculous.

And she really is, this lady possessing a modern take on the classic R&B singer sound, the results quite breathtaking. Oddly it gives the psychedelic, poppy, electro fare that bounces and challenges across All Are One, the disposition of feeling deeply rooted in the 60s via the vocals and much of the percussive sounds and structures, while holding a shimmering 80s electro sheen. The vocal melodies are crafted and to the point, memorable line following memorable line, the catchy nature belying the depth of comment and content going on. To be fair, Haynes doesn't achieve this Peter Gabriel, Kate Bush, Talk Talk, Motown, Pet Shop Boys hybrid all on her own, Larry Crane also a source of bass, guitars, drums and electro trickery, while Paul Pulvirenti adds real drums and loops. The three (or whichever configuration is in evidence at any given time) combining to sound remarkably like a full, proper band.

The album contains nine cuts and while all feel hugely cohesive, there's such a variety of styles revealed in what remains a tight, focused framework, that the results always feel varied yet linked. "Infinite Colors Of Desire" pulsates on a roaming bass line and busy ghost beats, while "Who Knows What Wonders Might Arise" eases into view on an easy pulse and those oh so seductive vocals. However the ultra-catchy "The Love Comet" is a juddering bounce of 80s pop that grows out of a slow lament and "Your Wonderland" a busy burst of clicks, clacks and hand claps, where an almost disco shuffle powers along underneath, allowing both to glint mischievously as they catch the light.

All in, the nine tracks on All Are One makes for an amazingly memorable journey where genre drops away to reveal a collection of songs that simply catch your interest through their ingenuity, excellent execution and superb structures.

Track Listing
1. Your Wonderland
2. The Love Comet
3. The Earth Breathes
4. All Are One
5. Infinite Colors of Desire
6. Love is Waiting
7. Waking The White Winged Horse
8. Who Knows What Wonders Might Arise
9. Arise & Awake

Added: September 5th 2016
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Sophe Lux & The Mystic on Facebook
Hits: 2610
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by