Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Whitford St. Holmes: Reunion

Back in 1981, while both were on extended hiatus from their main bands, Brad Whitford (Aerosmith) and Derek St. Holmes (Ted Nugent) decided to team up as Whitford St. Holmes, delivering a strong self-titled album that gave the listener many of the elements that made their contributions to their other more famous acts so noteworthy. Sadly, the pairing didn't last long, as Whitford found his way back to Aerosmith and St. Holmes went in and out of Nugent's band more times than you can count. Thankfully, 35 years later, the duo decided to give it another go, and the results are the very fine Reunion album, a real return to form for both that shows plenty of fire and energy left in the tank.

Alongside Whitford (guitars, backing vocals) and St. Holmes (lead vocals, guitar), are Chopper Anderson (bass), Buck Johnson (keyboards), and Troy Luccketta (drums), with all the songs written by the duo or solely St. Holmes. Many of them will take you back to their powerful debut, which itself was a fantastic set of '70s styled hard rock, and this one is no different. "Shapes", "Rock All Day", and "Hot For You" contain sizzling, hard rocking swagger, each one filled with hooks, gritty guitar work, and Derek's still very strong vocals. "Tender is the Night" is a catchy little ballad that crosses the fine line between rock, pop, and country, with St. Holmes again delivering a fine vocal, while both "Hell Is On Fire" and "Gotta Keep on Movin' ' have that bluesy boogie vibe that Aerosmith used to be so good out. In fact, much of Reunion comes across like the album we've been wanting from Aerosmith for over 20 years. "Shake It" rocks hard with AC/DC styled riffs, "Catch My Fall" is another memorable ballad, and the moody closer "Flood of Lies" sees St. Holmes channeling Steven Tyler for another great vocal performance.

Throughout it all, Whitford's lead guitar work is very tasty, never flashy, and he and St. Holmes have put together a fine assortment of bluesy hard rock riffs that are instantly memorable. Most importantly, the songs here are total winners, catchy yet rocking, and the production is stellar. Anyone who has lamented the fact that Aerosmith have released sub-par albums for ages needs to hear this one. Welcome back guys, and hopefully we won't have to wait another 35 years for the next one!

Oh, and I almost a bonus, you also get a 2nd CD that contains the great 1981 debut album completely remastered! Seeing as that album has been out of print on CD for ages, it makes this a must purchase.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1) Shapes
2) Tender is the Night
3) Rock All Day
4) Hot For You
5) Hell Is On Fire
6) Catch My Fall
7) Shake It
8) Gotta Keep on Movin'
9) Flood of Lies

Plus Bonus CD containing the original Whitford St. Holmes 1981 Debut remastered

Added: August 24th 2016
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1730
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by