Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

TrettioŚriga Kriget: Seaside Air

I must confess, I was completely unfamiliar with Swedish progressive rock band TrettioŚriga Kriget until I heard their live album War Years released in 2008. The band's self-titled debut was released long before that in 1974. While they have many fans I still feel they are a little underrated in the world of progressive music. On their new album Seaside Air the vocals are sung in English which just might increase their popularity on this side of the Atlantic.

In the band are Stefan Fredin (bass guitar, vocals, acoustic guitar), Dag Lundquist (drums, timpani, percussion, violin, background vocals), Robert Zima (vocals, acoustic guitar), Christer Ňkerberg (lead guitar) and Mats Lindberg (keyboards).

Right from the gentle beginning of the Canterbury influenced "The Photograph", the music immediately sunk in and soothed my progressive soul. The vocals are excellent complimented by tasty guitar and tasteful keyboards. There is a hint of melancholy and wistfulness but this is far from 'depressing ' music. The guitar eventually gets a little heavier, with a nod to late '60s psychedelia. The tasteful title track is another winner with a great melody shrouded in a soft blanket of violin and keyboards. The lead and background vocal harmonies are as tasty as anything you will hear in progressive rock this year. More somber Floydiness can be heard in the gripping ballad "Snow" while the touching and serene "Billy" showcases some excellent acoustic guitar work. More highlights include the melodic early '70s inspired prog of "Behold the Pilot" as well as the psychedelic guitar exploits in the riveting "Forgotten Garden".

Seaside Air is an album that in a perfect world would put TrettioŚriga Kriget on the map in a big way. One can only hope Seaside Air will bring the band a modicum of success they so truly deserve.

Track Listing:
1. The Photograph
2. Seaside Air
3. Forgotten Garden
4. Snow
5. Billy
6. Dreaming of Vermeer
7. Behold the Pilot

Added: August 24th 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Oficial Site
Hits: 1822
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by