Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Nash the Slash: Children of the Night

He was born as Jeffrey Plewman in the late 1940s and eventually became known as Nash the Slash, a major figure in the fabric of Canadian counter culture. He has always been somewhat of an enigmatic personality, right up till his unfortunate passing in 2014.

I first became familiar with Nash the Slash upon hearing the FM classic Black Noise. I was reeled in by the band's electronic driven progressive rock. That album still remains a staple in my prog rock diet as I return to it a few times every year.

Children of the Night is his second full length album and was originally released in 1981. Slash really developed a unique sound, utilizing mandolins and violins in in a way that had never previously been done before in rock music. On the album it is noted there are no guitars but after hearing Slash's heavy wall of sound it really is hard to believe. No-one else had used the mandolin in quite the same way, getting such a heavy and dense sound with his power chords and riffs. The first track "Wolf" skirts with electronic infused heavy metal as heavy slabs of mandolin and violin compete with the synthesized beat. On the title track bubbly electronics percolate amidst the heavy layering of sounds creating a dark and slightly ominous aura. Slash sings with vitriol here emphasizing the darker side of his demeanor. Slash also delves into some cover versions like the electrified Beach Boy's classic "Dead Man's Curve" and the Stones "19th Nervous Breakdown", keeping the melody intact while putting his own unique spin on things. His tongue and cheek humour comes to the fore on the cheekily titled "Dopes on the Water", a reworking of the classic Purple track "Smoke on the Water". Here, his fuzz laden mandolin takes on the classic riff.

There are also six bonus tracks, a selection of live tracks and alternate versions for Slash fans to sink their teeth into. Overall, a nice package courtesy of Artofact Records and an essential document in the history of Canadian alternative and experimental music. Recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Wolf
2. Dead Man's Curve
3. Children of the Night
4. Deep Forest
5. In the Glass Eye
6. 19th Nervous Breakdown
7. Swing Shift
8. Metropolis
9. Dopes on the Water
10. Danger Zone
11. Wolf (live)
12. Danger Zone (live)
13. Reactor No.2
14. Swing Shift (original 45 rpm version)
15. Swing Shift (flexi version)
16. Children of the Night (live)

Added: August 11th 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1548
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by