Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pentagram: First Daze Here [Reissue] and First Daze Here Too [2016 Reissue]

Pentagram has a long and dramatic history, one filled with failure, tragedy, hope, and success. From the start, the band showed so much promise that a bright future seemed all but inevitable. Even though things didn't turn out as planned, Pentagram has nevertheless enjoyed a long life as a pioneering band, not just on heavy metal in general but also on doom metal in particular. These recordings, some of the band's very best stuff, demonstrate just how good Pentagram was from the beginning. If you've never taken the time to check out Pentagram, this is as good a time as any. The music on these two reissues does not disappoint and it gives listeners a glimpse into a terrific band hoping to take the world by storm.

With these two reissues, Relapse Records once again reminds listeners to turn their attention back to Pentagram's earliest recordings, including music originally released at the time the band toyed with the name Macabre. These recordings, once hard to find, have been officially available for about 10 years now. It's time to rediscover them, especially if you haven't listened to them for a while. As I listen to them, I find myself especially drawn to the band's consistently strong songwriting. Sure, the music has a different style than the extreme metal bands of the 21st century, but there's no denying these guys could groove. The guitars soar and the solos are often breathtaking. For many listeners, these tracks are real gems. "Review Your Choices" is especially good, but how could anyone overlook "When the Screams Come," "Lazy Lady," "Hurricane," "Smokescreen," "Target," and many, many others. The sound quality varies here and there but things generally sound as crisp and clean as possible. Some of the muddier tracks ("Target," for example) seem even cooler because of the way they sound. Relapse has done a great job of keeping these tracks alive and available.

Track Listing:

First Daze Here

1. Forever My Queen
2. When the Screams Come
3. Walk in the Blue Light
4. Starlady
5. Lazy Lady
6. Review Your Choices
7. Hurricane
8. Livin' in a Ram's Head
9. Earth Flight
10. 20 Buck Spin
11. Be Forewarned
12. Last Daze Here
13. Be Forewarned (The Macabre 7"--Original Mix)
14. Lazy Lady (The Macabre 7"--Original Mix)

First Daze Here Too

1. Wheel of Fortune
2. When the Screams Come
3. Under My Thumb
4. Smokescreen
5. Teaser
6. Little Games
7. Much Too Young to Know
8. Virgin Death
9. Yes I Do
10. Ask No More
11. Man
12. Be Forewarned
13. Catwalk
14. Die in Your Sleep
15. Frustration
16. Target
17. Everything's Turning to Night
18. Take Me Away
19. Nightmare Gown
20. Cartwheel
21. Cat & Mouse
22. Show 'em How

Added: August 10th 2016
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1552
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by