Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Demonstealer: The Burden Is Mine

I have to say that that I never really associated India with a healthy heavy metal music scene, and well it turns out that metal music is actually quite popular in that part of the world. Doing his part for Indian metal is a talented musician called Sahil Makhija, Sahil who performs with multiple bands including Demonic Resurrection and Reptilian Death goes by the stage name of Demonstealer. Demonstealer is also the name of his studio solo project, now with a second album that is titled The Burden Is Mine. A multi instrumentalist Sahil Makhija is the vocalist, guitarist and keyboardist, while in what is a significant draw card the drums are in the hands of Nile's renowned drummer George Kollias who for those whom may have missed it released an impressive solo album last year called Invictus. That leaves the bass and it's very capably taken care of by Sahil's Demonic Resurrection and Reptilian Death band mate Ashwin Shriyan.

Sahil Makhija has created a multi faced metal release displaying varying influences on The Burden Is Mine such as progressive, death and thrash metal with both aggressive and clean vocal parts, mixing the intensity with melodic and atmospheric inclusions. With Kollias blasting away "How The Mighty Have Fallen" is a powerful track though it does mellow out somewhat and the growls are replaced by clean vocals while that volatile side does return later on. "An Unforgiving Truth" is a slower song that ramps up gradually, and you find that tempo shifts a lot on this album. Just don't go into this one expecting a non stop intense darkened metal experience there is so much more to this release. It's top points for musicianship, George Kollias's sounds so good on "The Last Jester Dance" and elsewhere for that matter, and not just when his kick pedals are propelling the music at some insane speeds, and not to forget that artwork which sure is cool. If I had to be critical I will say that due to so many different ideas appearing I do find this to be detrimental to the flow of some tracks, but ultimately this is a release that needs multiple plays to be fully appreciated. As initially I found myself thinking that The Burden Is Mine was much more memorable in parts than as a whole, but after persevering those early impressions have improved.

Track Listing
1. How The Mighty Have Fallen
2. An Unforgiving Truth
3. When The Hope Withers And Dies
4. This Burden Is Mine
5. Frail Fallible
6. The Failures Of Man
7. Where Worlds End
8. The Last Jester Dance
9. From Rubble And Ruin

Added: August 6th 2016
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Aritist's Website
Hits: 1018
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by