Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

ZHAOZE: Intoxicatingly Lost

One word used to describe the new album from Chinese post rock band ZHAOZE would be intoxicating. According to the liner notes Intoxicatingly Lost is the first Western release for the band and includes songs both new and old. In the band are Hoyliang (gugin, xiao, keyboards), Littledream (guitar), Roy (bass) and Seasean (drums, glockenspiel).

Intoxicatingly Lost is everything that a post rock album should be; droning atmospherics, shimmering guitar riffs, excellent drum patterns and fabulous use of exotic instrumentation like gugin, a Chines seven string instrument and xiao, a Chinese flute. The music ebbs and flows in mostly subtle ways with the occasional majestic build like in the intensely atmospheric "Lu M (Falling Leaves)" where gentle guitar and gugin are used in a serene manner before heavier chords are unleashed in quite dramatic fashion. Reverberating feedback begins "See You In The Dusk" as well as contemplative guitar and plucked strings. The sound is relaxing and as the rhythms slowly plod, slower droning ebow guitar adds more textural depth to the soundscape. This is the band's attempt of a post rock orchestral sound and it works amazingly. The first track "The Worthless" opens with an absorbing drum arrangement and wild keyboard sounds before a soothing soundscape ensues. The drum work throughout is excellent and as the song progresses a grand build and crescendo makes for a dense musical outro.

That is just a taste of what you will here. This is really a great find and for anyone into post rock and metal sounds this should be purchased without hesitation. A highly recommended Trail Records release.

Track Listing:
1. The Worthless (5:06)
2. See You In The Dusk (6:19)
3. Lu M (Falling Leaves) (7:16)
4. 1911 Third Mov. (8:26)
5. The Youngster Fishing For The Stars (6:59)
6. Lonely Shadow Would Dance (5:02)
7. Sleepy Child Sweet Smile (4:01)
8. Into Your Dream (6:12)
9. Intoxicatingly Lost (12:13)

Added: August 2nd 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 2195
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by