Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

MR BIG: Bitter Streets

You may remember the hit single "Romeo" released in 1977 by the UK band MR BIG. The word got around and a subsequent tour with such rock royalty as Kansas and Tom Petty helped to spread the word even more. But as you know all good things come to an end and the band never achieved their initial success and were eventually dropped by their label. They reformed under a different name and released Broken Home and Life under the Broken Home moniker. Again, the band called it quits but in 2010 they decided to give it another go and released the album Bitter Streets, the subject of this review.

This is pure melodic pop rock loaded with delicious melodies and strong lead vocals. The songs are lushly orchestrated and many fall into the mid-tempo ballad category. Addictive choruses and tasty but not very complex musicianship abound so if you are into melodic pop and rock music Bitter Streets will provide much enjoyment. Songs like the album opening "Come And Dance" and the pretty piano laced "Georgia" will certainly appeal to the pop rock crowd. The country tinged "My Sweet Medicine" is another tasty melodic pop rock morsel. The soaring vocal melodies are a high point throughout the album. Occasionally, the band rock out a bit as in the bluesy boogie of "God Save Me From The Blues". Also included is a reworked version of "Romeo", as catchy as anything on the disc.

Nothing earth shattering but there is no doubting MR BIG have a knack for writing some pretty irresistible pop music. Check it out at Angel Air Records.

Band members:
Dicken (Jeff Pain) (Lead vocal, keyboards, drums)
Paul Gibbon (keyboards, backing vocals, guitar, bass)
Jake Carter (programming)
Ed Carter (backing vocals, harp)
Joe Sam (bass)

Track Listing:
1. Come and Dance
2. Georgia
3. Die In Love
4. Bitter Streets
5. Chance Intrigue
6. My Sweet Medicine
7. Baby Come Around
8. Sandy
9. God Save Me From The Blues
10. Why Wait For Love
11. I Am Here For You
12. Something Special
13. Romeo
Bonus Tracks
14. Close My Eyes
15. Dreamed

Added: July 24th 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 1518
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by