Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Eternal Wanderers: The Mystery Of The Cosmic Sorrow

Here is another excellent find, this time from the Moscow band Eternal Wanderers. Russia has been producing some very good music the last few years and The Mystery Of The Cosmic Sorrow is no exception.

The band formed in 1997 by sisters Elena Kanevskaya (vocals, keyboards, samplers) and Tatyana Kanevskaya (guitars, charango, backing vocals, samplers) and are joined by Dmitry Shtatnov (bass, backing vocals, analog synths and effects) and Sergey Rogulya (drums, percussion).

The music mixes heavier prog with symphonic, electronic, psychedelic and space driven themes. The sound can be very intense as in the heavy guitar exploits in "Silent World" or very spacey and pastoral as exhibited by the intriguing "Methane Rain". The band does a great job blending light and heavy with cool sound effects and keyboards drifting through the soundscape like a spaceship on cruise control. The theme of space and our cosmic origins runs through the set and the music can be both mysterious and moody, at times even a tad melancholic. The many moods and atmospheres keep everything fresh and exciting warranting repeated listens. The soaring vocals and tasty guitar solo on the free flowing "Valley Of Oblivion" is another solid blending of pastoral symph and spacey meanderings. Elena's voice is excellent throughout so no problems in that department.

The second disc begins with the spacey electronic soundscapes of "Following A Neutrino's Flight" recalling the Floyd classic "On The Run" at times. The obligatory epic track can also be found on the second disc with the twenty-three minute multi-part instrumental "The End Of The Satellite Age". The slow symphonic build traverses exploratory electronic soundscapes and more spacey constructs. Definitely one for the headphones.

Eternal Wanderers has produced a finely crafted album, further proof of the abundance of excellent progressive rock at our fingertips. Highly recommended.

Track Listing:
CD 1
1. Message From Space (3:50)
2. The Mystery Of The Cosmic Sorrow (8:30)
3. Methane Rain (8:18)
4. Gamma Waves (5:30)
5. Born To Suffer (10:09)
6. Silent World (8:50)
7. Valley Of Oblivion (6:03)
CD 2
1. Following A Neutrino's Flight (9:29)
2. The End Of The Satellite Age (23:26)
I. Hard Times
II. The Great Dance
III. It Went The Wrong Way
IV. Brand New Program
V. Falling Down
3. Space (4:26)

Added: July 24th 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2157
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by