Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sanzu: Heavy Over the Home

Heavy Over The Home is the debut full length album from Perth, Australia's own Sanzu. Initially self released in 2015 to critical acclaim, 2016 sees Heavy Over The Home being re-released worldwide via Listenable Records with updated cover art, being available on in limited edition orange vinyl, as well as including the band's 5 song EP, Painless. This new 15 track heavy opus will find its way to a new generation of Metal fans around the globe.

Sanzu are a bludgeoning bunch that rifle saw blade edged grooves and savageness in the vein of Gojira, with a detuned ferocity of riffing of a Meshuggah. It is that Gojira tightness that you will first recognize and fall headlong into. Sanzu delivers their songs with an unrelenting fervor and from the opening build up of "Old Orchard Floor", you are advised to sit down and buckle up. The mix of old school American Death Metal with the French masters Gojira pick scrapes and percussive domination blasted together with a detuned Djent element makes for an interesting and heavy end result. The unrelenting assault of "Phenomena" or the sheer power and crushing groove of "Ubiety" are merely 2 of the forceful and weighty tunes that are thrust upon you with an invigorating and manic hyper-groove.

With all of the comparisons to Gojira aside, (because there are no two ways about it, they "borrow" elements that are very much Gojira's trademarks) Sanzu have a great heavy, deep and interesting record with Heavy Over The Home. This is one of those albums that you find yourself reaching for over and over. Fast at times and brutal all the time, this is a record that should be checked out, for sure. It should find a home with fans of old school Thrash or Death Metal, as well as the new schooler's that dig the Progressive Metal of today, this is a great record.

Ben Stanley-Drums
Zachary Andrews-Vocals
Fatima Curley-Bass
Mikey Hart-Guitars
Jarod "Century"-Guitars

Track Listing

  1. Old Orchard Floor
  2. Phenomena
  3. Ubiety
  4. Tailor
  5. Those Who Sleep In The East
  6. Awaken
  7. Heavy Over The Home
  8. The Chill
  9. Loss
  10. Colourblind
  11. 18 Day Of Rain (EP Bonus Track)
  12. For All (EP Bonus Track)
  13. Defamer (EP Bonus Track)
  14. Variant Red (EP Bonus Track)
  15. Lunar Crush (EP Bonus Track)

Added: July 16th 2016
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1417
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by