Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Vicious Rumors: Concussion Protocol

Being the guitar shred addict that I was back in the 80's the US power metal group Vicious Rumors were one exciting metal band that I was very aware of. Their debut Soldiers Of The Night which was to be the sole VR album with guitar legend Vinnie Moore (Solo artist, UFO), and the following release Digital Dictator were both powerful and addictive albums that I got a great deal of mileage from. Vicious Rumors had an exciting style and a guitar sound that set them apart from other groups. To find Vicious Rumors' origins you need to to go way back to 1979 and despite tragedy and line-up changes the band continues to release albums. Since 2006 we have seen the dynamic metal recordings Warball, Razorback Killers and Electric Punishment and that leads us to the release of Concussion Protocol in 2016.

Founder and guitarist Geoff Thorpe and drummer Larry Howe are the sole remaining long term members, and also appearing on Concussion Protocol are Nick Holleman on vocals and bass player Tilen Hudrap. Now you can't have a Vicious Rumors album without a kick ass guitar input and joining Geoff Thorpe there are performances by Thaen Rasmussen, Steve Smyth and Brad Gillis. Apart from the darkened metal of "Life For A Life" which is quite different especially the haunting vocals Concussion Protocol is the sort of lively hard hitting metal album that one would expect from Vicious Rumors. Vcious Rumors promptly give their fans plenty to smile about with the brisk guitar fuelled title track "Concussion Protocol" and they keep that momentum going on "Chemical Slaves" with soaring guitars a plenty, the band then slows it down for the equally enticing pounding metal of "Victims Of A Digital World". While it's not the 80's anymore and naturally the band's sound has changed with the times there remains many of those old school Vicious Rumors traits. Concussion Protocol may not replace those early classics but it's a damn fine metal album by the precision metal line-up that is Vicious Rumors.

Track Listing
1. Concussion Protocol
2. Chemical Slaves
3. Victims Of A Digital World
4. Chasing The Priest
5. Last Of Our Kind
6. 1000 Years
7. Circle Of Secrets
8. Take It Or Leave It
9. Bastards
10. Every Blessing Is A Curse
11. Life For A Life

Added: July 16th 2016
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1543
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by