Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pain Of Salvation: Remedy Lane Re:visited

This double disc reissue of the Swedish innovators 2002 album finds them collaborating with mixing engineer wizard Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios (Opeth, Symphony X, Devin Townsend, Haken, etc.) for a new sonic take on the original recordings which is also accompanied by a full-album live performance from 2014's ProgPower USA Festival. The various releases (including a very attractive orange vinyl version) come complete with revised artwork, expanded booklet design and extensive liner-notes by Daniel Gildenlöw.

The concept has been described as Gildenlöw's semi-autobiographical meditation on love, lust, and life and his vocals and lyrics are arguably what makes Remedy Lane such a great album. Numerous moods and themes are explored across the thirteen songs from the aching heartbreak of 'A Trace of Blood' and the laid back ambience of 'This Heart of Mine' to the 70's flavoured 'Ending Theme' and the versatile 'Beyond the Pale'. Whether this newly remixed version offers any notable sonic improvements over the original largely depends on the listener's keen attention to detail but their fiercely loyal fan base will no doubt welcome the inclusion of the live version of Remedy Lane that makes up the second disc. As with all classic concept albums the songs come to life even more when performed on stage and the 2014 shows marked the bands return to touring Stateside after an absence of more than a decade, giving fans the opportnitity to experience Remedy Lane in all its glory.

At the time of its original release Remedy Lane was regarded as the bands breakthrough album and they were very much at the forefront of the progressive rock genre. And although Pain of Salvation have experienced more than their fair share of turmoil in recent years this release offers a timely reminder of the creative force that they were at the time; and with a new album - In The Passing Light Of Day - scheduled for release later in 2016 they are clearly far from finished yet.

Track List:-
Disc 1: Re:mixed
01. Of Two Beginnings
02. Ending Theme
03. Fandango
04. A Trace of Blood
05. This Heart of Mine (I Pledge)
06. Undertow
07. Rope Ends
08. Chain Sling
09. Dryad of the Woods
10. Remedy Lane
11. Waking Every God
12. Second Love
13. Beyond the Pale

Disc 2: Re:lived
01. Remedy Lane
02. Of Two Beginnings
03. Ending Theme
04. Fandango
05. A Trace of Blood
06. This Heart of Mine (I Pledge)
07. Undertow
08. Rope Ends
09. Chain Sling
10. Dryad of the Woods
11. Waking Every God
12. Second Love
13. Beyond the Pale

Added: July 6th 2016
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Facebook page
Hits: 2099
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by