Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Jelly Jam, The: Profit

Despite the fact that the trio known as The Jelly Jam have spent much of their career earning their paychecks in progressive acts such as Dream Theater, King's X, and the Dixie Dregs, John Myung, Ty Tabor, and Rod Morgenstein have mostly decided to go in the complete opposite direction when they get together every few years to resurrect this band. Sure, the musicality of the three players is always there, but with Profit the band once again show how adept they are at crafting catchy pop hooks and housing with within an alternative/modern rock framework that owes as much to The Beatles, The Raspberries, and Cheap Trick as it does to Soundgarden, Nirvana, and Stone Temple Pilots. Basically a concept album telling the story of The Prophet who goes on a journey to save the world, the CD contains 12 tracks that range from moody rockers to quirky uptempo power pop, the prog virtuosity that all three members are capable of simmering underneath as they go for a more ensemble sound rather than show off.

Highlights include the catchy "Care", the hard rocking "Stop", the brooding "Water", the Middle Eastern/prog tinged "Perfect Lines (Flyin')", the grunge laden guitar romp of "Mr. Man", the heavy grooves of "Memphis", to the more introspective guitar & bass excursion "Permanent Hold". Tabor's vocals and guitar work are stellar as always, but it's Morgentstein who really impresses here with a vast array of rhythms and textures, giving each song plenty of life no matter the tone or tempo, and he works so well alongside the ever dependable Myung. Though much of the album is a bit mellower and moodier than past Jelly Jam affairs, there's no denying the quality of the material that's on display here, which is another great example of the talents of all involved. If you haven't yet discovered The Jelly Jam, this is as good a place as any to start your journey.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
01. Care
02. Stain On The Sun
03. Water
04. Stop
05. Perfect Lines (Flyin')
06. Mr. Man
07. Memphis
08. Ghost Town
09. Heaven
10. Permanent Hold
11. Fallen
12. Strong Belief

Added: July 4th 2016
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1532
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by