Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Beelzefuzz: The Righteous Bloom

Beelzefuzz are vocalist/guitarist Dana Ortt, drummer Darin McCloskey, guitarist/vocalist Greg Diener, and bassist Bert Hall, a band who hail from Maryland and have here their latest album The Righteous Bloom for Restricted Release/Abstract Distribution. These guys have an obvious love for all things 'heavy in the '70s', so if you lean towards Black Sabbath, Scorpions, Pentagram, Uriah Heep, Deep Purple, Grand Funk Railroad, and UFO, you've come to the right place. Thick grooves collide with inventive riffs and plenty of Uli Jon Roth/Ritchie Blackmore/Michael Schenker inspired guitar solos, with high pitched melodic vocals soaring over the top on standout cuts such as "Nazriff", "The Soulless", and the dark & mysterious "Within Trance". The band however have a real bluesy edge too (Graveyard fans take note), which you can hear on the addicting "Hardluck Melody", "Rat Poison Parfait" and "Eternal Waltz", the latter containing some cool textured acoustic passages to go along with the blues rock thunder. Of course, for many it's going to be the doom that's going to draw the instant attention, so be sure to check out the crushing dirge that is "Nebulous", which is like a head-on collision between Black Sabbath & Deep Purple, while the title track throws some psych, prog, and boogie into their lumbering stew for a wild Uriah Heep styled party, a tune packed with tasty guitar solos, organ, and powerful vocals. "Dying on the Vine" also tips the doom scale with some monstrous riffs and playful vocals, while those crushing dirges weave around quirky prog atmosphere on the dramatic closer "Peace Mind".

The Righteous Bloom is a hell of a hard rocking good time by a band who do the whole '70s retro thing proud. Well done!

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. Nazriff
2. The Soulless
3. Hardluck Melody
4. Rat Poison Parfait
5. Eternal Waltz
6. Within Trance
7. Nebulous
8. The Righteous Bloom
9. Sanctum & Solace
10. Dying On The Vine
11. Peace Mind

Added: June 19th 2016
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1811
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by