Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Livin' Parazite: Down

Down was the second album by Swedish outfit Livin' Parazite, an act whose debut impressed through both its class and diversity. From that release, Paranoia Chaos, drummer Geron Fritiofsson was gone, with Niclas Jerberg joining the four musicians from before. Often the change of drummers in a band can occur without any discernible notice (and I say that as an ex-tub thumper myself), so in truth, how much of an impact Jerberg has on the stylistic shifting between Paranoia and Down is open to debate. What isn't (at least not to these ears) is that a lot of the engaging scattergun approach has been watered down here, a more focused melding of the more accessible grunge sound Stone Temple Pilots, Alice In Chains to the riff heavy side of Megadeth and Metallica strongly in evidence. To be fair it's also an attack heavily used by this band before and yet with less offshoots into wider spheres, the results do hit harder but in a strangely less rewarding way. Don't get me wrong, if Down was this band's debut and not the 2002 follow up, I'd be happy to tell you that the title cut rolls along with intent and a nicely angsty chorus chant, or that "Hell Of An Angel" pounds with a ferocious glint of mischievous accuracy. However this time the only respite comes in the shape of two slower cuts, "Broadens One's Mind" and "Precious Life", the former still an abrasive journey, while the latter is more restrained altogether. Unfortunately both reveal a vocal fragility from Larsa Bertilsson that simply isn't apparent in the heavier material, "Precious..." in particular a struggle.

However with a guitar partnership of Linkan Andersson and Ola Renkse, there's much more about this album that hits the spot than doesn't and in particular it is their ability to continually alter and evolve the album's riffs and motifs that proves the real draw.

With a new single, "Dust", announcing the belated return of Livin' Parazite in fine style, it feels like the right time to go back and acquaint yourself with a band who, for whatever reason, completely slipped under most people's radar at the turn of the millennium. If what they come up with for their comeback album is as impactful as Down, and hopefully as eclectically cohesive as Paranoia Chaos, then it would be fitting if they receive the recognition these early albums definitely deserve.

Track Listing
1. More Haste Less Speed
2. Lunazy
3. Down
4. Don't Wanna Die Today
5. Broadens One's Mind
6. Hell of an Angel
7. Mystery
8. Precious Life
9. Go to Hell
10. The Haze
11. Pause
12. Destiny

Added: June 11th 2016
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Livin' Parazite on Facebook
Hits: 1829
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by