Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Postures: Halucinda

Here is some more new music from Sweden. Postures hail from the city of Gothenburg and released their self-titled debut in 2013. Because there are so many bands from that musical hotbed quite a few slip by my radar. This is another such band that went unbeknownst to me before I received their sophomore disc Halucinda.

The band is Paulina Nyström (vocals and backing vocals), David Petersson (bass, keyboards, effects), Benjamin Watts (guitars), Viktor Andersson (guitars), and Isak Björhag (drums, percussion, keyboards, effects).

The first two tracks "Halucinda" and "Myriad Man" illustrate what this band is all about. The rhythms are quirky and hard driving with tricky changes and imaginative chord progressions. The music is heavy but not overly so and the unique lead vocals of Nyström serve to alleviate the music's chaotic nature. The drumming of Björhag is also very impressive.

The longest track is "Wavemaker", another guitar based tune with cool riffs and quieter parts to alleviate the heaviness. Here the keyboards have a deeper tone and the guitar is more psychedelic in nature before unleashing into raucous heavier grooves. I really dig the overall trippiness as a little '70s Floyd creeps in every now and then. That said, the overall sound of the album doesn't have much in common with that band. This is a more modern, alternative production with the emphasis on tricky rhythmic changes and tied together with distinctive female vocals.

The last track "In The Dark" begins in a calming way before heavier psychedelic tones give way. The song traverses mellow and heavier themes to great effect. Nyström gives an impassioned performance here.

Halucinda is a very impressive effort from Postures. I suppose one should not be surprised as the music from Sweden seems to be of a consistently high quality. Recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Halucinda (5:33)
2. Myriad Man (7:50)
3. Every Room (8:35)
4. A Million Sequences (2:17)
5. Wavemaker (10:47)
6. Hexa Luna (6:09)
7. In The Dark (7:41)

Added: June 5th 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1474
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by