Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Secret Rule: Machination

If there's one thing that Secret Rule sure do have a knack for it's recording catchy/memorable/vibrant and varied songs, such as the sprightly "The Saviour" one of many tracks that leave a positive impression on Secret Rule's new album Machination. This female fronted Italian melodic metal group sure got it right when they recruited keyboardist Henrik Klingenberg (Sonata Arctica) to their lineup and he contributes plenty of welcome input such as the solo on "Short Stories". The guests spots include Stefan Helleblad (Within Temptation), Timo Somers (Delain) and Fabio D'Amore (Serenity). Secret Rule have returned promptly with Machination having released their debut Transposed Emotions only last year, and while I haven't heard that album if Machination is anything to go by then I sure need to. This band clearly likes to mix it up with lots of cool extras in their sound, and Secret Rule don't settle for playing it straightforward as they delve into more complex territory with the skills to pull it of convincingly.

Lead vocalist like Angela Di Vincenzo is just so impressive with her inviting melodic style totally suited to the different temperaments of the album. A powerful track with a symphonic touch and potent riffs "Ex-Machina" has the band off to a good start, next they lift the tempo for the ever so catchy "The Saviour" a track on which Angela Di Vincenzo features heavily. Secret Rule get slow and powerful on "I have The Sun" with a great chorus, and musically the band really shines on this one. There are some limited darker male vocals on the album also, but they aren't the best and actually turned me off the track "Foolish Daisy". Though with plenty to offer this is the only real negative I could find in an otherwise great album by Secret Rule.

Track Listing
1. Ex-Machina
2. The Saviour
3. I Have The Sun
4. Dolls
5. I Will
6. The Image
7. You're The Player
8. Your Trap
9. Foolish Daisy
10. Short Stories
11. A Mother

Added: May 28th 2016
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1857
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by