Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Real Thing, The: Live!

Way back in 1962 the a cappella vocal group The Chants was formed (even The Beatles were impressed), the very early beginnings of what would eventually become The Real Thing in the early '70s. The pop/soul group included vocalists Chris Amoo, Eddy Amoo and Dave Smith. On their recently released CD Live!, recorded at the Liverpool Philharmonic Hall in 2013, the rest of the players are Danny Rose (drums), Sam Edwards (keyboards), Dave Foster (keyboards), John Bower (bass), Stuart Ansell (lead guitar) and John Chapman (sax).

The band achieved huge success in the U.K. in the late '70s with three hit singles; "Can't Get By Without You", "Can You Feel The Force" and "You To Me Are Everything". All three tracks are found in this set and offer some nice soul/pop grooves with good lead vocal and harmonies and slick rhythmic grooves. The first track "Street Corner Boogie" is a silky smooth pop/soul confection backed by a funky bass line and melodic sax lines. "Raining Through My Sunshine" is another uplifting track with catchy guitar rhythms and sax while "Whenever You Want My Love" has a slight disco groove as does their hit "Can You Feel The Force".

The playing is good throughout, nothing earth shattering but the grooves are tight and the vocals are catchy. If you enjoy soul music of the '70s this should bring some good vibes your way.

An Angel Air Records release.

Track Listing:
1. Street Corner Boogie
2. Raining Through My Sunshine
3. Whenever You Want My Love
4. You'll Never Know What You're Missing
5. Can't Get By Without You
6. (Living On The) Front Line
7. Did U
8. Good Times
9. Ladies Night
10. Ain't Know Stopping Us Now
11. Celebration
12. The L8 Medley (Liverpool 8, Children Of The Ghetto, Stanhope Street)
13. Cry Me A River
14. You To Me Are Everything
15. Can You Feel The Force
Bonus Tracks
16. Eleanor Rigby
17. The Kid Ain't Mine
18. Tug Of War

Added: May 23rd 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 1405
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by