Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Four By Fate: Relentless

When you have a pedigree behind you that includes time spent with Ace Frehley's Comet, Cheap Trick, Skid Row, Ted Nugent, Pound, Peter Frampton, John Waite, Twisted Sister, WASP, and others, chances are your debut album is going to get some serious notice. That is indeed the case here with Relentless, the unveiling of Four By Fate, who are comprised of veterans John Regan (bass), Tod Howarth (vocals, guitar, keyboards), Rob Affuso (drums), and Patrick James Gasperini (guitar). With some extra help in the studio from the late AJ Pero (drums), Stet Howland (drums), and Sean Kelly (guitar), Four By Fate were able to make this near 30 year journey (when Regan & Howarth first met and discussed working together) come to fruition, eventually signing with The End Records for the release of Relentless.

The songwriting, vocal, and instrumental skills of Howarth have always been noted and in-demand, and you can totally see why here on Relentless. His lead vocals are strong & confident, slotting in perfectly within catchy hard rock tunes like "Levee Breach", "Moonshine", and the power ballad "It's Over Now". He and Gasperini prove to be a potent guitar duo as well, laying down some crunchy riffs and sizzling leads on the memorable "Follow Me", some nasty blues rock on "On My Own", and even go into Dio styled classic melodic metal on the heavy "Back in the '80s". In fact, much of Relentless has a certain '80s feel, from the soaring, anthemic choruses, to the hot guitar riffs, and the never ending abundance of groove. They even do an '80s styled cover of the '70s classic "Rock & Roll Hoochie Koo", complete with a barnstorming rhythm, scorching guitar licks, and a killer vocal from Howarth.

While to the mainstream Four By Fate may not qualify as a 'super-group', those who have followed the music scene closely over the last 30 years obviously are well aware of the history of these musicians and what they bring to the table here with this new band. If you love the music of bands like Bon Jovi, Bad English, Night Ranger, Styx, and Journey, this album will certainly be one you should seek out.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. These Times Are Hard For Lovers
2. Moonshine
3. Hangin' On
4. Levee Breach
5. It's Over Now
6. Follow Me
7. On My Own
8. I Give
9. Don't Know
10. Back In The 80's
11. Rock & Roll Hoochie Koo
12. Amber Waves
13. Amber Waves (Acoustic)

Added: May 21st 2016
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2167
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by