Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Baule, Eric: Revelations Adrift

Here is another nice surprise to come out of 2015, which happened to be a very strong year in music. Hearing great new music is one of the highlights of being a music reviewer and Eric Baule, hailing from Barcelona, Spain has put out a really nice debut album titled Revelations Adrift. The musicianship is excellent throughout these ten tracks as all the players are integral components to Baule's vision. They include Eric Baulenas (guitars and vocals), Eric Rovira (drums and backing vocals), Isam Alegre (keyboards and backing vocals) and Dani Soto (bass guitar).

The sound is in the Porcupine Tree vein of progressive rock, quite atmospheric and moody with heavier moments sprinkled throughout. Baulenas' guitar work is impressive as he develops moody textural components, hard rock style riffs and emotive solos reminding me of David Gilmour. On tracks like "Back to Nature" and the heavier "Flying High" the Porcupine Tree element is quite apparent although I wouldn't say this is a copycat by any means. The drumming on both tracks is very impressive as Rovira has a great tone and impressive chops when called upon. The soundscape is moody with atmospheric keys and guitar work, particular in "Back To Nature" while "Flying High" is very dynamic with a killer groove, spacey keys and impressive guitar soloing. The opening track "Tidal Wave" has a melodic and catchy groove, a little Floydy with some tricky tempo changes as well. Again, the drum work is very impressive.

Other highlights include the moody progressive rock of "Circle Of Dead Eyes" where the guitar soloing takes on psychedelic undertones, the heavy instrumental prog of "Touching the Earth" and the guitar driven "Release From Duality", featuring catchy melodies, delicately softer interludes, heavier guitar passages and emotive solos.

Eric Baulenas should be very proud of what he has accomplished with Revelations Adrift. The maturity, musicianship and top rate songwriting is what you'd expect from a group of veteran musicians. Congratulations on a fine first album!

Track Listing:
1. Tidal Wave
2. Redemption
3. Back to Nature
4. Flying High
5. Circle of Dead Eyes
6. Touching the Earth
7. Release From Duality
8. Undertow
9. Far From Here
10. Spring Disease

Added: April 19th 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1942
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by