Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Knifeworld: Bottled Out of Eden

Bottled Out of Eden is the third release from eclectic UK prog/psych/pop act Knifeworld, a band led by Kavus Torabi (Gong, The Cardiacs) that also features seven other musicians & singers. Though they reside on InsideOut Records, Knifeworld are more of a casual fit for the label, as they tend to tread in more jazzy, psychedelic pop laden waters rather than full blown symphonic prog-rock or metal as many of the InsideOut roster historically seem to. Quirky horns, keyboards, and lilting guitars support a multi-layered male & female vocal approach on fun tunes such as "High/Aflame", "The Germ Inside" and "I Am Lost", which come across like a blend of XTC, Pink Floyd, Gong, and perhaps Hatfield & the North. That very British 'Canterbury' flavor permeates much of the album actually, with the lighthearted, dreamy "The Deathless", the melancholy "Foul Temple", and the airy "A Dream About a Dream" all reminiscent of the quirky mix of pop, jazz, and prog that bands of that era & region were known for. "I Must Set Fire to Your Portrait" has an angrier tone, not far removed from Van Der Graaf Generator, while "Lowered Into Necromancy" contains some lovely moments of counterpoint that bring to mind Gentle Giant. Perhaps the most upbeat and fun track here is the closer "Feel the Sorcery", as sax, guitars, percussion, and a myriad of vocal layers weave impressive patterns, sort of like Echolyn meets Hatfield & the North meets The B-52s...yeah, imagine that!

Overall, Bottled Out of Eden is an intriguing listen, and though some parts of the album tend to drift and meander a tad much for my liking, there's still plenty to enjoy and recommend here for anyone into the more pop & jazz side of prog rock.

Track Listing
1. High/Aflame
2. The Germ Inside
3. I Am Lost
4. The Deathless
5. Foul Temple
6. Vision Of The Bent Path
7. I Must Set Fire To Your Portrait
8. Lowered Into Necromancy
9. A Dream About A Dream
10. Secret Words
11. Feel The Sorcery

Added: April 16th 2016
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1552
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by