Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Black Stone Cherry: Kentucky

Kentucky's Black Stone Cherry have seen their popularity grow with each successive album, and their latest release Kentucky is sure to see that trend continue. Not only is the album named after their home state, but it was also recorded in Kentucky at David Barrick's Barrick Recording studio. The bands mix of Southern Fried hard rock is in abundance here, and in fact many of these songs are some of the heaviest they have written to date, but their never ending knack for creating catchy hooks is ever present.

Tunes such as "Shakin' My Cage", "In Our Dreams", "The Way of the Future", and "Born to Die" rock quite hard with some ferocious riffs, thunderous grooves, and memorable choruses, but it's numbers like "Soul Machine", with irresistible melodies, crunchy riffs, horns, and female backing vocals, and the gentle yet ultra catchy country tune "The Rambler" that offer up Kentucky's biggest and more rewarding surprises. "Long Ride" also touches on those Southern Rock/Country vibes, another song that seems a perfect fit for that crossover crowd. The cover of the classic track "War" is a lot of fun, while the headbanging tracks "Hangman", "Feelin' Fuzzy", and "Darkest Secret" mesh Lynyrd Skynyrd with Soundgarden for an exciting 'alternative southern stoner' sound that is quite addicting.

The vocals of Chris Robertson are great throughout the album, and along with Ben Wells the duo make for a formidable guitar team, unleashing plenty of snarling, nasty riffs and scorching lead solos. Kentucky is a heavy album in spots, and quite accessible in others, resulting in a rewarding listen that contains plenty of variety for any hard rock fan. The timing just might be right for Black Stone Cherry to become superstars with this one folks.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1) The Way of the Future
2) In Our Dreams
3) Shakin' My Cage
4) Soul Machine
5) Long Ride
6) War
7) Hangman
8) Cheaper to Drink Alone
9) Rescue Me
10) Feelin' Fuzzy
11) Darkest Secret
12) Born to Die
13) The Rambler

Added: April 5th 2016
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1155
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by