Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Walls of Jericho: No One Can Save You From Yourself

After eight years, Walls of Jericho drops a new album that stirs things up with plenty of speed, intensity, and aggression. The music is strong and confident and the band generally comes off as though it's never been away. Things open with an introduction that frames the album in terms of a major emergency that suggests not only a state of emergency but also a world approaching dystopia. Such openings are relatively common, but this one feels timely in an age of terror, natural disasters, and contentious election cycles. From that dramatic opening, things move smoothly into a series of short but intense tracks that show off the band's blend of hardcore and metalcore. Things don't slow down until the closing track, a quieter piece that approaches the condition of a ballad.

I've never been the biggest fan of metalcore, but I admired this album for leaning more heavily on its hardcore and thrash roots than anything else. Some metalcore bands sound like they're trying too hard to fit things into a prepackaged series of angry rants, of showing how bad their attitudes can be. Walls of Jericho doesn't fall into that trap. The band has plenty of experience and the eight year hiatus certainly gave its members a chance to consider all the possible angles for a good return. For the most part, the album succeeds at creating songs that genuinely sound like sincere responses to a crazy world. For me, the standout tracks were "Relentless" and "Anthem" and "Fight the Good Fight." Candace Kucsulain still has a very strong voice. I also recommend paying attention to Dustin Schoenhofer's drumming.

The weakest song on this album, "Probably Will," is also it's most necessary. I say that because it strikes a much-needed contrast from the rest of the album. It also gives Kucsulain a chance to sing in a different timbre. She doesn't have the largest range, but she sings clearly and it was nice to see what else she could do.

Track Listing:
1. Intro
2. Illusion of Safety
3. No One Can Save You From Yourself
4. Forever Militant
5. Fight the Good Fight
6. Cutbird
7. Relentless
8. Damage Done
9. Reign Supreme
10. Wrapped in Violence
11. Anthem
12. Beyond All Praise
13. Probably Will

Added: March 26th 2016
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1442
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by