Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Anvil: Anvil is Anvil

Heavy metal veterans Anvil show no signs of slowing down here in 2016, and despite a career that has never really taken off when compared to some of their contemporaries, the underground legends still continue to pump out new material and slog along on the live circuit. Anvil is Anvil is their new release for Steamhammer/SPV, and the title is pretty indicative of what you can's Anvil through and through!

Never the most groundbreaking, talented or appealing band in metal, there however always was a certain charm about Anvil that continues on to this day. Anvil is Anvil isn't going to stimulate your senses much, but for good time, no frills classic heavy metal, it doesn't get much better than this. "Up, Down, Sideways", "Daggers and Rum", "Gun Control", "Runaway Train", and "Zombie Apocalypse" are all fun, brainless headbangers, long on crunchy riffs, cornball lyrics, and a fat bottom end. At the helm as always is guitarist/vocalist Lips, a guy who knows his metal better than just about anyone, and while nobody is going to mistake him for the best singer or guitar slinger on the planet, his honest and tongue in cheek work on "Fire on the Highway" and "Run Like Hell" shows an aging veteran who still seems to be having fun doing what he loves.

Hard really to fault Anvil is Anvil; basically, you always know what you are going to get with these guys, and this is another solid, if unspectacular release that just screams classic heavy metal. If you've never really understood the appeal of Anvil, this new one isn't going to change your mind, but should you be one of the many underground legions who have followed this band for decades, there's a lot to enjoy here.

Track Listing
1. Daggers And Rum 5:26
2. Up, Down, Sideways 3:19
3. Gun Control 4:22
4. Die For A Lie 3:17
5. Runaway Train 3:40
6. Zombie Apocalypse 4:22
7. Its Your Move 3:30
8. Ambushed 3:22
9. Fire On The Highway 4:35
10. Run Like Hell 3:07
11. Forgive Don`t Forget 2:40
12. Never Going To Stop 4:12 (bonus track)

Added: March 22nd 2016
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1238
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by