Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Section A: Wall Of Silence

How many excellent bands and projects can a musician be involved with before people really begin to take notice? Well, in the case of Denmark's Torben Enevoldsen, hopefully that number is five (and counting), what with the guitarist a major player in Fate, Acacia Avenue, Fatal Force and Section A, as well as the proud owner of a stellar solo career. Wall Of Silence is the fourth album from Section A, coming some six years after the 2010 release, Sacrifice. Since then, as has been the way with this outfit, singer Anders Engberg and drummer Thomas Heintzelmann have both departed the ranks, leaving Enevoldsen to recruit drummer Dennis Hansen, who is often involved with the guitarist's projects, and singer Niklas Sonne (also of Defecto and Wasted) to complete the trio.

With Fatal Force being a fiery power metal outfit, Acacia Avenue an intricate melodic rock act and Fate a mix of hard rock and AOR, it makes sense that Section A should offer something a little different, riff driven rock with progressive touches the order of the day. Sonne, it has to be said, is a revelation, his instantly likeable attack energetic, precise and engaging. As expected Enevoldsen is in top form, his touch and tone beyond question, his solos fitting each individual song to perfection while never veering too far into flash or shred (something kept for his solo work). However it's through killer riffs and hooks that the progressive edge is garnished, leading to something far more readily accessible; the work of George Lynch sometimes brought to mind. Factor in the excellent drumming from Hansen (someone who it's surprising hasn't carved out a little more notice for himself) and excellent keyboards from guest, Julien Spreutels and the performances are easily a forceful match for an excellently crafted set of songs.

The album's title track leads from the front, a memorable chorus expertly combined with killer riffs and interesting atmospheres. "Finding The One" adds a more commercial US rock snap, the tight guitar work whisking you along, while Sonne rummages through his bag of tricks to reveal everything from uplifting notes to rasping bursts and all in between. Impressively he's that convincing throughout and whether via the slightly darker "All That Matters", bombastic "No Tomorrow", or brooding "Bleeding Chains", he never puts a foot wrong. The same can be said for the guitars, Enevoldsen thriving through the pulsating punch of "Holding On" and intricately constructed "Pray For Freedom". However what remains key to this album's success throughout are glorious melodies and killer hooks, those two vital factors making each of the nine songs on Wall Of Silence interesting and exciting no matter how many times you hear them.

If you've cottoned on to Torben Enevoldsen's music through any of his other bands, you'll already know this is one guitarist who never fails to hit the bull's eye. However, for me, it's with Section A that he really shows his undoubted talent to the fullest. Wall Of Silence is no exception.

Track Listing
1. Wall Of Silence
2. Finding The One
3. All That Matters
4. No Tomorrow
5. How Long
6. Pray For Freedom
7. Bleeding Chains
8. Holding On
9. When All Is Falling

Added: March 20th 2016
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Torben Enevoldsen online
Hits: 3117
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by