Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Reptiel: Hobbitozz

Reptiel is a San Francisco psychedelic/progressive rock band which formed in 2009. The band mix folk, indie, fantasy and pagan elements into their brand of psychedelic rock. I believe Hobbitozz is their first release. The band consists of:

Alec Way (guitars, keyboards, piano, percussion, lead and backing vocals,
slide/ebow bass/guitar on "Tree Of Life")
Brian Weaver (bass guitar, lead and backing vocals, acoustic guitar on "Forest
Jason Gonzales (drums, backing vocals, percussion, electric guitar on "Elven
Souls of the Forest Knolls")
Jason Yakich (guitars, backing vocals, mandolin on "Song of the Druid")

The album is based on a concept of a fantasy world where a boy, our protagonist, loses his father and needs to find the root of the world's destruction, otherwise darkness will fill the land. It's all very Tolkienesque with references to druids, elves, witches and other fantasy based themes. The music is quite mellow with folk influenced psych and prog being the main focus. Gentle instrumentation and psychedelic textures highlight the pleasant "Hobbitozz…The Land That Never Was" and "Forest Boy" while "Near and Far" is a little more rocking with dramatic vocals and decent guitar rhythms. The pagan influence comes through in the brisk, indie-like "Leaves Are Falling" and the catchy acoustic rhythms of "(Beware) The Woodland Witch". The Hammond solo in the fuzz laden "These Woods Are Haunted" is another highlight. One of the more unique attributes of the album is the lead vocals which are at times very dramatic giving the sound a certain dynamic flair.

Hobbitozz is a well-crafted album with easy on the ear melodies and nice musicianship. This isn't your typical American prog, so for something a little different it just might do the trick. Released on Cubby Control Records.

Track Listing:
1. Intro
2. Hobbitozz…The Land That Never Was
3. Forest Boy
4. Near And Far
5. Leaves Are Falling
6. These Woods Are Haunted
7. (Beware) The Woodland Witch
8. JackOh The Green
9. Forest Bot Forages For Food
10. Ecstasy In Shadow Green
11. Song Of The Druid
12. The Elven Souls Of The Forest Knolls
13. Tree Of Life
14. The Druid Of The Wood
15. Outro

Added: March 18th 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Bandcamp Page
Hits: 1648
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by