Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Convulse: Cycle of Revenge

Finish veterans Convulse have a long (if sometimes quiet) history given that they disbanded in1994 before the name was resurrected a few years back and the Evil Prevails album appeared on Svart Records. Now a three-piece after guitarist Kristian Kangasniemi left the band Cycle of Revenge sees them compared (by Svart Records at least)to Pink Floyd, Sentenced, Kingston Wall and Soulfly. I can't see all those myself.

What I can see/hear is an album with a sense of sadness and despair framed by hulking riffs and the ever expressive grunts of Rami Jämsä. Nowhere is the better heard than the middle of the album in particular on "Fractured Pieces" which gets down and nasty in almost stoner rock mode before "Nature of Humankind" explodes out of the speakers with rage. As always with this record label the quality of the artist is without question and Cycle of Revenge is yet another fine release.

Track Listing:
01 Cycle of Revenge
02 God is You
03 Pangaea
04 Fractured Pieces
05 Nature of Humankind
06 Ever Flowing Stream
07 War
08 Into the Void

Added: March 10th 2016
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1449
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by