Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Thunder: All You Can Eat (DVD/2CD)

Don't get me wrong, I'm a lucky chap. What with the advent of the digital age, a veritable avalanche of albums tumble daily into my inbox for attention. However the only downfall of that fortunate situation, is that when an audio-visual release deserves some time, as often as not it is only the listening part that gets sent. Hence, with the main course of this slap up three portion helping of Thunder foodness, sorry, goodness, All You Can Eat being a documentary of the band making their recent comeback album Wonder Days (it could have been titled Never Say Never Ever, Never, Never, Ever Again, For The Seventieth Time, there's been that many Thunder comebacks…), which is then followed by a whole load of live in the studio and on stage shenanigans, what we're left discussing here are the two audio companion discs. Does that leave me feeling let down? Not one jot, because both are top notch entertainment.

Disc one is on odd idea, the band captured live in the studio as they rumble through nine Wonder Days cuts and a selection of covers. Unusual maybe, but the depth and quality leaves you rather breathless, singer Danny Bowes masterful, guitarist Luke Morley untouchable. What it also illustrates is just how strong Wonder Days really is, each selection pulsating in an amazingly authentic manner. Interestingly, what really comes through in this setting is just how much this band's classic rock isn't inspired by the usual touching point – the 70s – but by older rock n' roll from both decades before that time. Although there's no denying the results are suitably beefed up and strutting. I have to say this is one of my favourite Thunder releases of any kind, the covers, "The Rocker", "Superstition" and "Up Around The Bend" every bit as good as the originals, "Resurrection Day", "Wonder Days" or "When The Music Played".

The full on live disc from a free show promoted by Classic Rock at Brooklyn Bowl, isn't far behind, the true live force of Thunder apparent for all to hear as they power through tracks new and old, some borrowed and some ever so slightly blue… You simply can't argue with "Low Life In High Places" or "Dirty Love", however that the new tracks from Wonder Days stand up to the classics is the only slight surprise, proving this band only get better with age. My own favourite moment however comes in the slow break down in "The Devil Made Me Do It", the crowd chanting along, before, just as the band prepare to burst into the chorus once more, a female member of the audience screams at the top of her voice, 'Danny made me do it!!!', just as the singer confirms the devil was behind it all really; raising the hairs on the back of my neck every time and lending that 'I wish I was there factor' so many live albums lack these days. Add in a peerless and joyously humorous performance from Bowes and that the band (augmented by guitarist Pete Shoulder due to Ben Matthews, at the time, fight with cancer, which thankfully he has come through to rejoin the band) are simply irresistible, and there's no criticism to make.

Anyway, I'm off to buy a real copy of this, because even if the documentary is tosh (by all accounts it's not), the two audio discs are simply must haves. All You Can Eat? Be careful, it's fit to bursting!

Track Listing
Starter: Live at RAK Studio
1 - Wonder Days (Live)
2 - The Thing I Want (Live)
3 - When The Music Played (Live)
4 - Black Water (Live)
5 - Resurrection Day (Live)
6 - I Love The Weekend (Live)
7 - Chasing Shadows (Live)
8 - Serpentine (Live)
9 - Be Good To Yourself (Live)
10 - The Rocker (Live)
11 - Superstition (Live)
12 - Up Around The Bend (Live)
13 - I'm Down (Live)
14 - The Stealer (Live)

Main Course: Thunder Live at The Brooklyn Bowl

1 - Backstreet Symphony (Live)
2 - The Thing I Want (Live)
3 - Black Water (Live)
4 - Low Life In High Places (Live)
5 - Be Good To Yourself Live)
6 - Wonder Days (Live)
7 - The Devil Made Me Do It (Live)
8 - Resurrection Day (Live)
9 - Stand Up (Live)
10 - The Rocker (Live)
11 - Love Walked In (Live)
12 - Dirty Love (Live)
13 - Up Around The Bend (Live)
14 - Just Another Suicide (Live)

Dessert: Wonder Days - The Film (& Bonus Content)


1 - Wonder Days Film

Loud Park (Bonus Video)

1 - Dirty Love (Live)
2 - The Thing I Want (Live)
3 - Higher Ground (Live)
4 - Wonder Days (Live)
5 - River Of Pain (Live)
6 - I Love You More Than Rock 'n' Roll (Live)

RAK Studio Sessions (Bonus Video):
1 - When The Music Played (Live)
2 - Resurrection Day (Live)
3 - I Love The Weekend (Live)
4 - Chasing Shadows (Live)
5 - Serpentine (Live)
6 - I'm Down (Live)
7 - The Stealer (Live)

Live At The Brooklyn Bowl (Bonus Video):
1 - Black Water (Live)
2 - Low Life In High Places (Live)
3 - Be Good To Yourself (Live)
4 - The Rocker (Live)
5 - Love Walked In (Live)
6 - Up Around The Bend (Live)

Added: March 6th 2016
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: All You Can Eat at Thunder Online
Hits: 1713
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by