Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Wicked Maraya: Lifetime In Hell

YES!!! Finally some new music (sort of) from the great and CRIMINALLY missed out on Long Island, NY Power Metal band, Wicked Maraya. This new/old album is entitled, Lifetime In Hell (Massacre Records) and is actually the album that was recorded in 1991 BEFORE their fantastic debut record, Cycles, which was released in 1994. Fans of the first (3) Queensryche records and bands like Iced Earth will love Wicked Maraya's US Prog/Power Metal. This previously unreleased album is finally seeing the light of day and sounds as fresh in 2016 as it would have had it been released back in '91. Had it been released back then (a screwed up Indie record deal was the problem) and with what would have been the band's follow up album, the amazing Cycles, I think Wicked Maraya might have been dealt a much different fate than they wound up receiving.

Nonetheless, after an 18 year break the all original Wicked Maraya are back with Lifetime In Hell, their 9 track originally recorded album, that is now the bands 4th album and that was produced by the infamously awesome Jim Morris of Morrisound Recording in Tampa, FL. in 1991. This new/old disc includes 2 brand new songs that fit in perfectly with these older gems and continues the Wicked Maraya formula of big vocals with great twin guitar harmonies. Production is excellent and somehow doesn't sound or feel dated even though the recordings are from 25 years ago. Songs like "Sounds of Evil", "Lifetime In Hell" and "The Calling" all benefit from that great Morris production that keeps things heavy with a great nod to the melodic and perfectly displays their raw, hungry and bombastic youth.

Wicked Maraya are known for their excellent and creative songwriting that borders on the Prog side ala Fates Warning or Queensryche's Rage For Order and also on the the heavy percussive side like an Iced Earth or older Savatage. All of this makes for some awesome Headbanging. What's awesome to find is that the Wicked Maraya classic, "Johnny", in all of it's maniacal craziness, that was originally included on the bands official debut, is actually an older song and is found on Lifetime In Hell in pretty much the same state as it was to be 3 years later on Cycles. Confusing but awesome and "Johnny" is a standout here as it is on Cycles, pure genius!

Wicked Maraya are FALCO - Vocals, John Iadevaio - Bass, Michael Iadevaio - Guitar, Daniel Malsch - Guitar, Mike Nack - Drums and with the inclusion of the 2 new tracks, "Fall From Grace" and "Suicidal Dawn" the band somehow manages to pick up EXACTLY where they left off some years ago. I for one have been following the band's return on Social Media for a couple of years now and I am totally excited that this album has been unearthed and hope that Wicked Maraya will finally get some of the recognition that they so justly deserve. Lifetime In Hell is an excellent "debut" record even if it was recorded in 1991 and finally released in 2016 as the band's 4th album. Welcome back!

1. Sounds Of Evil
2. Lifetime In Hell
3. Tomorrow's Child
4. Crash & Burn (Idiot's Delight)
5. Seizure
6. Johnny
7. The Calling
8. River Runs Black
9. Blackout
10. Fall From Grace
11. Suicidal Dawn

Added: March 3rd 2016
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2470
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by