Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Royal Hunt: Cargo

In immediate support of their very fine release Devil's Dozen, acclaimed Danish symphonic metal act Royal Hunt participated in a number of festivals around the world, most notably ProgPower USA, Loud Park Japan, and Rockingham UK, and prior to heading out for a more lengthy stay on the road in 2016, the band decided to go through some of the festival recordings from 2015 and put together a live album for the fans. The result is Cargo, a 2CD set on Frontiers Records, featuring 90 minutes of the best performances from those festival dates, including the entire Paradox concept album done in its entirety.

Easily one of the most consistent bands on the melodic power/prog/symphonic metal circuit since the '90s, Royal Hunt are class personified, and the current line-up of Andre Andersen (keyboards), DC Cooper (vocals), Andreas Passmark (bass), Jonas Larsen (guitar), and Andreas Johansson (drums) put on quite the display through this thrilling live set. With Cooper's soaring vocals, Andersen's majestic keyboard tapestries, and Larsen's tasty guitar work, the band tackle classic tracks like "River of Pain", "Tearing Down the World", "Long Way Home", and "Time Will Tell" with power & grace, the perfect marriage of prog, metal, and melodic rock. "Silent Scream" hits hard with muscular yet complex riffs but those great vocal harmonies also share the spotlight, while the grandiose "It's Over" and the unforgettable "May You Never Walk Alone" show why both Cooper & Andersen are such respected figures in the industry.

Quality stuff all around here on Cargo, a near perfect live recording for those who haven't had the chance to catch the band on stage, as well as a memorable document for those who have managed to experience the band in this environment.

Track Listing
CD1 - 01.The Mission
CD1 - 02.Half Past Loneliness
CD1 - 03.The Awakening
CD1 - 04.River Of Pain
CD1 - 05.Tearing Down The World
CD1 - 06.Message To God
CD1 - 07.Long Way Home

CD2 - 01.Time Will Tell
CD2 - 02.Silent Scream
CD2 - 03.It's Over
CD2 - 04.May You Never Walk Alone
CD2 - 05.A Life To Die For

Added: February 28th 2016
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2882
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by