Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dream Death: Dissemination

Pittsburgh doom act Dream Death launched their debut Journey into Mystery way back in 1987, but just two years later the band imploded and remained in cold storage (though they morphed into Penance) till 2011, when they regrouped and worked on their sophomore album Somnium Excessum, which was released in 2013. Now, nearly 30 years later, their third album Dissemination is set for release on Rise Above Records, featuring guitarist/vocalist Brian Lawrence, drummer Mike Smail (ex-Pentagram & Cathedral), bassist Richard Freund, and guitarist Terry Weston.

Comprised of classic metal & doom riffing, hardcore styled vocals, and pummeling rhythms, Dissemination doesn't stray too far from the original Dream Death formula. Tunes such as "The Cold Hard Light", "Expendable Blood Flow" and the title track pummel in the grand tradition of vintage Black Sabbath, Saint Vitus, and Cathedral, with Lawrence & Weston crafting some truly fine riffs throughout. The duo really work overtime on the bruising "All in Vain Start", while the pace picks up for the near thrash attack of "Dominion", which reminds of a head on collision between vintage Metallica and Slayer. Creepy sound effects come into play on the dirge "In Perpetuum", the doomy closer that takes the album out on a menacing tone.

The one thing holding me back throughout Dissemination are the vocals of Lawrence. Though I will give him credit for lending a completely different singing style to these doom laden numbers, for some his hardcore influenced bellow is bound to be a pain point, and at times seem to clash a bit with everything else that is going on. However, if you are ok with this approach towards modern doom, there is a lot to like here, and hopefully the band keep cranking out the music for years to come.

Track Listing
1) Dissemination
2) Expendable Blood Flow
3) Crawling
4) The Cold Hard Light
5) All in Vain Start
6) Dominion
7) The Other Side
8) Nothing Ever Will
9) Neutral Ground
10) In Perpetuum

Added: February 27th 2016
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2044
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by