Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Yang : A Complex Nature

Yang are a four piece outfit from France that had its roots back in the early 70's when anchorman, Frederic L'Epee' carried the band Shylock into the realms of minor stardom with their highly revered but tragically unknown duo of albums entitled "Gialorgues" and "Ille De Fievre."

After the demise of Shylock, Frederic began his next project which would take him through the 80's and 90's with his new band, Philharmonie, that would become considered just as accomplished as King Crimson's more aggressive styles that were featured on albums like "Red."

With a heavy and throbbing drone, Yang kicks this CD off with a bang and weaves their way inside your eardrums without letting go. While the main theme of this song is based around the driving sound of the menacing guitar, the bass work from Stephane Bertrand in particular, possess a subtle tone that must be listened for carefully to appreciate its underlying importance. The two opening tracks are in fact more improvisational in nature, concentrating more on a level of sonic freedom that only a truly gifted guitarist could achieve. Having said that however, pay attention to the additional guitar work throughout the album from Julien Vecchie as he helps maintain a interesting perspective along with the dynamic drum work from Volodia Brice who was also recruited to play with Philharmonie on some of their previous work.

The track entitled "Innocent Seducer" is a far more structured piece and may remind of Jan Schaffer or even Pat Metheny while the following song returns along similar lines to the first 2 with a slightly more eclectic edge to the playing.

"Impatience" has that slightly funky up-tempo style epitomized so well by legendary greats of the Metheny camp and engages the listener with a jagged and more raucous sound until the closing moments when Frederick attempts to pacify the ears with some delicate scalar runs along the fret board. This piece alone showcases how clever Frederic's songwriting skills are without necessarily being too excessively self-indulgent. He certainly is the master of style, compositional difficulty and originality.

The closing track, "Pride" is probably the rockiest song amongst this set of 8 well composed pieces of busy, slightly frenetic and avant-garde style of playing that will surely remind the listener of some of Robert Fripp's more adventurous work. Join the ranks of the coalition of the willing and you'll soon immerse your ears in some sonic originality that will please a wide variety of fans.

Track Listings:

1. The Two Worlds (8.16).
2. Subterranean (6.35)
3. Innocent Seducer (5.46)
4. Compassion (4.26)
5. Homme-Enfant (4.41)
6. Impatience (7.03)
7. The Red Mask (5.27)
8. Pride (5.54)

Added: November 4th 2004
Reviewer: Greg Cummins
Related Link: Bands Record Label
Hits: 5173
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by