Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

All Them Witches: Dying Surfer Meets His Maker

All Them Witches is based out of Nashville, Tennessee and have released three albums to date including their latest titled Dying Surfer Meets His Maker released on New West Records. In the band are Ben McLeod (guitar), Michael Parks Jr. (vocals, bass), Robby Staebler (drums) and Allan Van Cleave (keyboards).

This is one of those albums that connected with me right from the first note. If you dig psychedelic rock, of which I am a big fan, please read on for more details. While all band members have pivotal roles it is the guitar work that attacks your senses from the get go. Whether the guitar is clean and fluid or drenched in feedback and distortion it is a highlight in every track. At times the slow rumblings had me thinking of Neil Young's Crazy Horse. The psychedelic riffs and cosmic trippiness will slither and slide across your senses in a wonderful assortment of patterns and textures.

Acoustic arpeggios and clear vocals begin "Call Me Star" before the guitar becomes more atmospheric. The rhythm section may not be spectacular but is rock solid holding it all together for McLeod to let loose his fuzz laden riffs and gritty chord structures. The vocals hint of early Pink Floyd at times. The instrumental "El Centro" is more of a psychedelic cosmic jam with cool repeating riff patterns and relentless guitar explorations. The vocals in "Dirt Preachers" recall Blue Oyster Cult, more so in their understated style of delivery than anything else and the stabbing guitar and languishing chords scream psychedelic rock. The spoken words in "This Is Where It Falls Apart" add a trippy factor to the bluesy lead guitar and the instruments have more room to breathe as the soundscape is less dense than on some of the other tracks. The layering of guitars is very effective as is the harmonica played by Mickey Raphael.

On the incredibly pretty "Mellowing" the band changes it up with a gorgeous arrangement of acoustic guitar proving there is more to the band than feedback drenched soundscapes. "Open Passageways" is another softer tune this time with violin and exotic acoustic guitar flavourings. The latter half of the album is more mellow but no less intoxicating.

After listening to Dying Surfer Meets His Maker I really need to dig further in this band's discography as it is an excellent slab of psychedelic rock. Highly recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Call Me Star
2. El Centro
3. Dirt Preachers
4. This Is Where It Falls Apart
5. Mellowing
6. Open Passageways
7. Welcome To The Caveman Future
8. Talisman
9. Blood and Sand/Milk and Endless Waters

Added: January 29th 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1319
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by