Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Obscura: Akroasis

Since the release of the outstanding Omnivium in 2011 talented bass player Jeroen Paul Thesseling departed Obscura to be replaced by Linus Klausenitzer. Moving forward to 2014 which then saw the departure of two accomplished musicians in drummer Hannes Grossmann and guitarist Christian Muenzner. Guitarist Tom Geldschläger joined the band for a short time which then led to the inclusion of Rafael Trujillo who is actually a jazz specialist and on drums Sebastian Lanser of the jazz-metal group Panzerballett was also recruited, they join band founder guitarist/vocalist Steffen Kummerer. Despite this turn of events Obscura haven't faltered in the slightest with another outstanding release titled Akroasis, the third part of a four part concept series that began with Cosmogenesis.

Five years since that last album Obscura are once again delivering a flawless display of technical mastery on this latest work. Like the metal pioneers Death and others such as the technical death metal group Pyscrotpic, Obscura show that you can still push the boundaries presenting mind-blowing songs that are also quite catchy. Akroasis continues the evolution of Obscura's sound, and as the band have new members with that comes an added fresh input. Tempo wise Akroasis isn't as full throttle as Omnivium, though the blast beats still play a role.

The versatility of those involved allows for such an unpredictable album which closes with the varied and monster track at over fifteen minutes "Weltseele" this goes through many changes. "Sermon Of The Seven Suns" shows the many sides of Obscura, it's technical,varying in intensity, adventurous, tempo shifting, and the guitars are quite melodic. Bassist Linus Klausenitzer has his time to shine also and doesn't waste it, this is one band that have the bass sound right where it should be. Sebastian Lanser gets active for the introduction to "The Monist", his playing on this track and the rest of Akroasis is simply outstanding. Sebastian lays down so many cool patterns and extra touches like when he mirrors the guitars on his cymbals while his kick drums power along at the crushing start of the amazing "Ode To The Sun". That demolishing metal component of this track actually makes me think of the band Immolation, and Steffen Kummerer's vocals are once again most venomous. I also have to mention the guitars which are equally as impressive and varied on Akroasis from demolishing riffs to tasteful acoustic inclusions.

This is an amazing album from the German progressive death metal group, and I have no hesitation in awarding Akroasis with my first five star rating of 2016.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. Sermon Of The Seven Suns
2. The Monist
3. Akroasis
4. Ten Sepiroth
5. Ode To The Sun
6. Fractal Dimension
7. Perpetual Infinity
8. Weltseele

Added: January 31st 2016
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2025
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Obscura: Akroasis
Posted by Pete Pardo, SoT Staff Writer on 2016-01-31 07:02:25
My Score:

Lots of changes in the Obscura camp since we last heard from them on 2011s very fine Omnivium, but despite the personnel upheaval the music still has the look and feel we've come to love from this band. Akroasis is their brand new release for Relapse, and it's chock full of their insanely complex brand of progressive death metal, this time around even more melodic, featuring an uncanny amount of jazzy & proggy bits that delight the senses as well as forcing your jaw to drop and drag along the ground in amazement. Opener "Sermon of the Seven Sons" has a certain Cynic feel to it, thanks to the effects laden vocals and adventurous guitar & bass lines, and those vocal passages again pop up on the old school death metal meets tech-savvy "The Monist". Velvety bass lines and soaring lead guitar drive the incredible title track, blast beats and acrobatic riffs permeate "Ten Sepiroth", and the absolutely crushing "Ode to the Sun" unleashes monstrous growls over killer riffs & blast beats for a menacing and pulverizing ride. These are just some of the monumental moments of Akroasis, all of which lead up to the 15-minute closer "Weltseele", a true gem of epic & progressive death metal.

As near perfect as the album is, I'm taking off a half star for a certain sense of repetition that drifts along through parts of the album, as a few of these songs sound a tad to similar to each other in overall structure, but the playing is so damn amazing it's easy to overlook. Without a doubt, this will be one of 2016s metal highlights.

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by