Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Rendezvous Point: Solar Storm

It should come as no surprise that another talented young band from Norway has caught the attention of progressive metal connoisseurs. The band is Rendezvous Point and their debut album is Solar Storm. The band formed in 2012 at the University of Agder where the band members were studying music. The musicians include Geirmund Hansen (vocals), Baard Kolstad (drums), Petter Hallaråker (guitar), Nicolai Tangen Svennaes (keyboards) and Gunn-Hilde Erstad (bass).

The band's sound is progressive metal with influences from bands like Leprous and Opeth. Tracks like the album opening "Through The Solar Storm" with its Leprous-like riffs and powerful lead vocals and the more atmospheric "Wasteland" where soft and heavy transmit a more somber vibe are the order of the day. On "Para" big bursts of heaviness break through the initial soundscape leading into a heavy barrage of riffage and tricky time changes. The song traverses soft and heavy with moody keyboards meshing with thick and heavy guitar riffs. One of the heaviest tunes has to be the intense "The Hunger" with its fast beginning tempo and whispered vocals leading into a harsher vocal style. The middle section is very cool inundated with voice samples and a smattering of keyboards and complex riff patterns. The following synth and guitar solo are both excellent.

The longest track is "Mirrors" and is another powerful statement from the band. Moody guitar work, thicker riffs, shimmering keyboard textures and strong vocals which soar into the stratosphere during the chorus is what you will hear.

The album ends with the one two punch of "The Conclusion Parts 1 and 2" where complex drum and riff patterns combine with soothing keyboard landscapes and emotive lead vocals. In fact, this is probably Hansen's best vocal performance on the disc. A very beautiful yet intense ending to what is a very promising debut album.

Rendezvous Point is another nice surprise in the world of progressive metal. Heavy yet thoughtful with mood laden atmospheres and melodic yet powerful lead vocals, this is a band that should have a bright future indeed. Released on Karisma Records.

Track Listing:
1. Through The Solar Storm
2. Wasteland
3. Para
4. The Hunger
5. Mirrors
6. The Conclusion Pt. 1
7. The Conclusion Pt. 2

Added: January 26th 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 1795
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by