Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Empty Tremor: Slice Of Live 20th Anniversary Acoustic Evening

Empty Tremor is an Italian progressive metal band that has its origins dating back to 1993 and the band name Noise Pollution. In 1995 they changed their name to Empty Tremor and have recently released their fifth CD Slice Of Live, an all acoustic live show marking the 20th anniversary of the band recorded in their hometown of Mezzano. Band members include Giovanni De Luigi (lead and backing vocals), Marco Guerrini (lead and rhythm guitars), Marco Scott Gilardi (keyboards, backing vocals), Christian Tombetti (lead and rhythm guitars), Dennis Randi (bass) and Stefano Ruzzi (drums and percussion).

As this is the first I have heard the band, judging and comparing these songs to their original album versions is an impossibility so the best I can do is rate them on their own merits. The band does a great job giving these songs the acoustic treatment and the playing is excellent throughout. The piano is used effectively adding some nice melodies and both guitarists do a great job. The songs are long enough for plenty of extended solos so fans of tasty fretwork should be impressed. The first track "The Eyes Of Universe" has a nice melody starting with piano and acoustic guitar. The groove settles in although subtle changes and interesting chord progressions keep things interesting even venturing into flamenco territory. De Luigi's vocals are another highlight as he inflects just the right amount of emotion into these songs. On the title track a ballad like beginning leads to more intense guitar riffs and ripping bass lines as the music gets a little heavier. The ballad "To Lose You Forever" features pretty guitar and some lovely vocal harmonies as does the heartfelt "Lost In The Past", one of the most emotional songs on the disc. For more tasty guitar try "Outside" featuring a couple of nice solos while the album ending "Warm Embrace" is highlighted with pretty piano, a delightful vocal arrangement and progressive rhythmic changes.

Slice Of Life is a solid work from a group of very good musicians. I would certainly be curious to delve into their electric body of work should the opportunity arise.

Track Listing:
1. The Eyes Of Universe
2. Slice Of Life
3. To Lose You Forever
4. Lost In The Past
5. Outside
6. Star
7. Another Day (Dream Theater cover)
8. I Found You
9. Stay
10. Waiting For You
11. Everyday
12. The Ballad Of Life
13. Warm Embrace

Added: January 21st 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1783
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by