Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Brainstorm: Scary Creatures

Few bands can match the intensity and consistency, especially when it comes to classic power metal, than the mighty Brainstorm. These guys continue to pump out one stellar album after another, and if we didn't think they could follow-up 2014s Firesoul with something of equal or better quality, well, shame on us because they certainly have with their latest Scary Creatures. This German juggernaut, led by one of the premier vocalists on the metal scene Andy B. Franck, also includes the powerhouse players Torsten Ihlenfeld (guitars), Milan Loncaric (guitars), Antonio Ieva (bass), and Dieter Bernert (drums), each one a formidable musician, and together they have made for a potent outfit for many years.

The one constant for just about every Brainstorm album I have ever heard is that each tune is highly memorable from the very first listen, and that is also the case here. Right from the get go, songs like "The World to See", "We Are...", "Where Angels Dream", and the title track just leap out and immediately grab you with powerful, muscular guitar riffs, Franck's soaring vocals, and memorable melodies. Prepare to dust out your air guitar and get those fists pumping in the air for "Twisted Ways" and the lethal "Scars in Your Eyes", the latter a menacing metal gem with some killer, dark riffs from the guitar duo. "Take Me to the Never" is a more mid paced number, reminding of vintage Savatage, especially thanks to Franck's vocals that sound a bit like Zak Stevens, and the glorious "Sky Among the Clouds" sees keyboards come into play as the band dives into melodic, symphonic heavy metal.

If all that wasn't enough, included on the special edition is a bonus DVD of the band performing in Germany in 2014, as they play the entire Firesoul album plus a batch of their more popular songs from the back catalog. It's a stunning performance, and will especially be fun for North American fans who just don't get a chance to see Brainstorm on this continent. Ultimately, this is a killer package (artwork is phenomenal) , killer album, and a killer band...2016 is off to a GREAT start!

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. The World To See
2. How Much Can You Take
3. We Are…
4. Where Angels Dream
5. Scary Creatures
6. Twisted Ways
7. Caressed By The Blackness
8. Scars In Your Eyes
9. Take Me To The Never
10. Sky Among The Clouds
Exclusive Bonus Track Ltd. CD+DVD Digipak:
11. Lift Your Eyes To See

Bonus DVD (FSK 12)
1. The World To See (Videoclip)
Brainstorm Live Turock, Essen:
2. Highs Without Lows
3. Shiver
4. Worlds Are Coming Through
5. Erased By The Dark
6. Firesoul
7. Descendants Of The Fire
8. Entering Solitude
9. Recall the Real
10. Shadowseeker
11. Feed Me Lies
12. What Grows Inside
13. The Chosen
14. And I Wonder
15. Shiva's Tears
16. Temple Of Stone
17. Fire Walk With Me
18. All Those Words

Added: January 18th 2016
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1350
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by