Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

DC Sound Collective: A Memory Of Errors

Daniel Crommie has been quite prolific during the course of his career having an extensive solo discography as well as being a member of Group Du Jour and Saturnalia. The multi-instrumentalist is known for his electronic soundscapes and ambient washes of keyboards and synthesizers. On his latest effort A Memory Of Errors he covers a wide range of styles and gets help from a number of musicians including Eldon Hardenbrook (bass, keyboards, drums, vocal), Bruce Hazen (electric guitar), David Duhig (electric guitar), Colin Henson (electric guitar) and James Havard (electric guitar).

The album starts with a bang with the heavy (at least for Crommie) "Anything You Want" with a sampled voice over radio static before shards of electric guitar give the tune its bite. Crommie adds some nice flute and synths but his vocals are a little too monochromatic for me. They are not horrible but are somewhat on the sterile side. "Drifting Away" has a nice lilting folky vibe and has grown on me quite a bit. "The Laughing Man" is another mellower effort with a gentle melody amidst a backdrop of ambient electronics. More touches of ambient can be heard on "Ferguson" highlighted by Hardenbrook's electric piano. Crommie leans towards funky pop music on the catchy "Little Gods" whereas "Paper Trail" is a more trippy affair with enhanced vocals and atmospheric guitars and synths. The last tune "A Memory Of Errors Suite" is actually four tracks combining elements of space, world, ambient and alternative rock. My only gripe is the tracks don't flow together in a seamless manner leaving the feeling of being slightly disjointed.

A Memory Of Errors is a pretty decent album. I just wish Crommie's vocal delivery was more energetic. That said, if you are curious and in the mood for something off the beaten track head over to Crommie's website for more information.

Track Listing:
1. Anything You Want
2. Drifting Away
3. The Laughing Man
4. Molecular
5. Abbrev.
6. Ferguson
7. In Lucid Moments
8. Little Gods
9. Paper Trail
10. A Memory Suite
The Passion Flower Bears No Fruit
A Mind Full Of Mirrors
Star Gazer
A Night Journey

Added: January 12th 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1006
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by