Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Opeth: Deliverance & Damnation (remastered box set)

Originally released in 2002 & 2003 respectively, Deliverance and Damnation were once considered to be released as a double album, but Mikael Akerfeldt eventually decided to send them out on their own separately, as both are so completely different from each other that it just made better sense that way. From there, we all know the history; Deliverance is one of the heaviest albums in the Opeth canon, as their brand of progressive death metal goes into levels of brutality, beauty, and complexity that saw no stopping the band, while Damnation scales things back considerably in the form of gorgeous, melodic progressive rock with a healthy dose of folk leanings. Two polar opposite albums, but one that clearly sparked a shift in the band to more classic prog waters that would fully come to fruition a decade later.

Here in this lovely box set, both albums are included in remastered form, with The Pineapple Thief's very own Bruce Soord tackling Deliverance and Steven Wilson (who actually co-produced both albums) Damnation. Also included are two DVDs, one of each album with spectacular 5.1 surround & stereo mixes, so you can play them through your home theater system and really take advantage of hearing both the way they were meant to sound. It's quite an eye (or ear!) opening experience, as the lush, melodic strains of Mellotrons, acoustic guitars, and vocals of "Windowpane", "In My Time of Need", "Hope Leaves", and "To Rid the Disease" (among others) of Damnation just drift from the speakers and permeate your very soul. On the flip side, "Wreath", "Master's Apprentices", "For Absent Friends", and the mighty "Deliverance" just crush with newfound power and clarity.The creepy black & white artwork that will show up on your TV screen while you play these in your Blu-ray or DVD player just adds to the haunting, chilling nature of the whole experience. Throw in a 32 page booklet with complete liner notes, lyrics, new photos, and redesigned artwork from Travis Smith, and you have a wonderful package to rediscover these two classic albums all over again.

Released as a collaboration between SONY Music, Music for Nations, and The End Records

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. "Wreath" 11:11
2. "Deliverance" 13:36
3. "A Fair Judgement" 10:21
4. "For Absent Friends" (instrumental) 2:17
5. "Master's Apprentices" 10:30
6. "By the Pain I See in Others" 13:50

1. "Windowpane" 7:45
2. "In My Time of Need" 5:50
3. "Death Whispered a Lullaby" (Steven Wilson) 5:50
4. "Closure" 5:16
5. "Hope Leaves" 4:30
6. "To Rid the Disease" 6:21
7. "Ending Credits" 3:39
8. "Weakness" 4:09

Added: January 11th 2016
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1812
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by