Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Prime Evil: Blood Curse Resurrection

It's been an interesting 30 year ride for underground New York extreme act Prime Evil, who were doing their brand of thrash-meets-early death metal practically before anyone else but all they really had to show for it were a series of tape demos, EPs, and plenty of live gigs before splitting up with all the potential for greatness and massive exposure left on the table. That is, until a few years ago, when singer Andy Eichhorn and guitarist Mike Usifer decided to once again resurrect Prime Evil and continue where they left off many years ago. 2012 saw the release of the 3 song EP Evilution, and now we have the bands first ever full length CD, titled Blood Curse Resurrection. Obviously, with the long passage of time, the band have really seemed to embrace the modern death metal genre, so while there's still the thrash element here, Blood Curse Resurrection is much more of a death metal affair, and a damn good one at that.

"Cannibal God" is as good as it gets, with huge Usifer riffing battling Eichhorn's throaty roar, while both "Blood Curse" and "Plague of Humanity" rage with jackhammer precision, new guys Billy Wassweiler (drums) and Rob Broderick (bass) doing a fine job hammering down the meaty rhythms. "Horns of Rapture", "Soul Shattered", and "Mark of the Dead" show where the band have embraced the sounds of Immolation and Cannibal Corpse, but mixed it with a bit of vintage Dark Angel for a sound that is brutal, precise, and with plenty of groove. "In Defiance" sees Eichhorn delivering some inhuman growls & screams, while Usifer unleashes some of the albums heaviest riffs on the furious "Blacken the Sun", a monstrous piece that is sure to go over well live as the mosh pit starts to boil and swell.

Along with some killer artwork and great production, Blood Curse Resurrection (Inferno Records) is a must hear album not only for New York fans who have waited many, many years for their local heroes to make this statement, but especially for extreme metal fans worldwide who can finally now hear one of the genre's best kept secrets.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1) Blood Curse
2) Plague of Humanity
3) Soul Shattered
4) Cannibal God
5) Horns of Rapture
6) Homicidal Assault
7) In Defiance
8) Mark of the Dead
9) Blacken the Sun
10) Strangulated Decapitation

Added: January 10th 2016
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1830
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by