Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Taylor's Universe: Across the Universe-An Introduction to Taylor's Universe

Here we have a cool little collection of latter period songs from Taylor's Universe, revamped and partially re-recorded, remixed and remastered with the current incarnation of the band, which not only represents somewhat of a polished 'best of' but also a great introduction to potential new fans. Band leader Robin C. Taylor (guitar/keyboards/bass/percussion) is joined by Jakob Mygind (sax), John Sund (guitar), Thomas Thor Videro Ulstrup (synth), Frank Carvalho (guitar/synth), Klaus Thrane (drums), Louise Nipper (voice), and Jan Fischer (voice).

The band have always walked the fine line between tasty jazz-fusion and prog rock, and this musical theme is on display throughout Across the Universe. "Firestone" is a throwback to classic Genesis, an homage to "Supper's Ready" with some great analog keys and dramatic arrangements, while the vibrant opener "Salon Bleu" is a bright, melodic mix of modern jazz flavors filled with majestic instrumentation. Haunting Mellotron permeates "Days Run Like Horses", a classy tune that also features some silky sax melodies from Mygind, proggy minimoog courtesy of Ulstrup, and a scorching Sund guitar solo. The quirky "Fame" ventures into Gentle Giant territory with a touch of Mahavishnu Orchestra, and is followed by the moody "Tortugas", an atmospheric mix of space rock and prog, littered with plenty of textures from Taylor. Jazz and atmospheric prog combine for some dreamy sounds on "Haunted Yellow House", and the wild "Mooncake" closes things out in grand fashion, as Carvalho tosses in some meaty guitar solos and vintage minimoog.

Robin Taylor has long been one of the most prolific musicians on the prog/jazz/avant-garde scene, and if you've somehow missed out on some of the great music he's created in recent years along with his band Taylor's Universe, Across the Universe is a superb way to get acquainted with it.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1) Salon Bleu 2015
2) Firestone 2015
3) Days Run Like Horses 2015
4) Fame 2015
5) Tortugas 2015
6) Haunted Yellow House 2015
7) Mooncake 2015

Added: January 9th 2016
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 1419
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by