Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Gilmore, David: Energies Of Change

There will be no world peace, so long as everyone wants a piece of the world.

David Gilmore

The above quote was taken from the jazz guitarist's fourth album titled Energies Of Change. The title refers to the act of soul searching and discovering one's true place in nature and the world. It's a spiritual understanding of ourselves and given the state of the world at this point in time perhaps it wouldn't be a bad idea for people to develop a better understanding of who and what we are. Ok, enough of the preaching.

Gilmore, not to be confused with that other guy, is an exhilarating player and has assembled a cracker of a band including Marcus Strickland (soprano, alto and tenor saxophones, bass clarinet), Luis Perdomo (piano), Ben Williams (bass), Antonio Sanchez (drums) and Kofo Wanda (talking drum on "Dance Of Duality").

This is far from your typical jazz album. Gilmore has a penchant for unusual harmonics and chord choices and is an exceptional guitarist adding his fluidic solos to each and every track. If that wasn't enough he has surrounded himself with the finest of musicians creating one hell of a jazz rock album.

The title track begins the CD exuding a subtle complexity yet conveys rich melodic moments of guitar and saxophone so as not to limit its accessibility. The solo guitar and saxophone are spellbinding and Sanchez's stick work is second to none. "Rajas Guna" is slightly more disjointed featuring changes in tempo and more angular lines. It is a very rhythmic piece with Sanchez doing a great job. Squelching sax and Gilmore's fast paced fills complete the picture. "Dance Of Duality" begins with a drum intro before bass and sax join in on the fun. Further along piano, guitar and saxophone solos ensue. The first three tracks are excellent as are the remaining six which I will leave you to investigate.

Energies Of Change is both spontaneous and invigorating and is an excellent vehicle for Gilmore and his band to truly show their magic. An exciting jazz rock album to be sure and comes highly recommended!

Track Listing:
1. Energies Of Change (8:11)
2. Rajas Guna (7:40)
3. Dance Of Duality (7:23)
4. The Seeker (5:48)
5. Sacred Pause (6:01)
6. Over Shadow Hill Way (6:52)
7. Awakening (7:48)
8. Revelations (7:20)
9. Trick Of I (6:11)

Added: January 1st 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1947
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by