Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Caelestia: Beyond Abyss

Caelestia are a Greek extreme four piece Symphonic Metal band that have released their 2nd album album, Beneath Abyss earlier in 2015 via the Finnish label Inverse Records. The 10 track album features guest appearances from Bjorn "Speed" Strid (SOILWORK) on "Blessing of Tragedy" and drummer Markus Freiwald (SODOM) on "Secret Rite." Several Greek artists are also featured, including vocalist/guitarist Andrew Geo (AlterSelf), and drummers Kostas Savvidis (SOULSKINNER, ex-NIGHTFALL) and Nick Yngve (W.E.B.) and is a mixture of Melodic Death, Prog and Symphonic Metal with something to offer to all listeners.

Ranging from pristine clean vocals to guttural taunts, female lead singer Demitra and bass player and growler, Nik, create the bands identity with their distinct delivery. Mixed with blastbeats, heavy guitar riffs and the atmospheric use of keyboards, the Symphonic Metal landscape is built deeply embedded with tones of a Dimmu Borgir or even a slight tinge of a Nightwish.

Standout tracks include the Speed Strid guest vocals on "Blessing of Tragedy" and "Beneath Abyss" that both are good representations of the overall sound of the band; brutal and operatic. "Beyond Abyss" is melodic in spots, heavy throughout with vocal chants that are out of an Italian opera and coupled with keyboards that give it its Symphonic sheen and luster.

Beyond Abyss is musical journey, for sure, if you are up for their Proggy, Symphonic Metal ride. Overall I found the record to be lacking of substance that drew me in and held me and I found it a tad uninteresting and a bit overindulgent. However, sonically it is a good sounding album, but best left to those who enjoy the operatic side of Metal that is brutal.

Track Listing
1. Malleus Maleficaru
2. Gate Of Shadows
3. The Grand Sublimation (Instrumental)
4. Blessing Of Tragedy (ft. Bjoern Speed)
5. Beneath Abyss (ft. Andrew Geo)
6. Mi Ultima Vida
7. Secret Rite (ft. Markus Freiwald)
8. Silent Despair (Instrumental)
9. Lake Of Decay
10. The Rise Of The Hidden Nature

Added: December 30th 2015
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1826
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by