Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Atmospheres: The Departure

Belgium's atmospheric prog/post-metal act Atmospheres return with their sophomore release, titled The Departure, a 10 song album that floats, drifts, meanders, and oh yes, occasionally rocks out a little bit. Fans of Katatonia, The Ocean, or Anathema will probably enjoy some of the ambient flavors and charming melodies that many of these songs provide, with the vocals especially top notch throughout. At times, you'll be left wanting a little more 'thump', but the band does allow for some heavier riffing and intricate arrangements during parts of "Satellite", "The Arrival", "The Farthest Star", and the title track. Otherwise, look for airy keyboard textures, lilting guitar patterns, and lush, soaring vocals, providing for a pleasant listening experience, but one that overall could probably utilize a little more variety. Solid stuff for sure if you gravitate towards the more melancholy, mellow side of melodic progressive rock and post metal.

Track Listing

  1. Sun
  2. The Farthest Star
  3. Void
  4. Into Orbit
  5. Laniakea
  6. Satellite
  7. The Departure
  8. Direction
  9. The Arrival
  10. Vapor Trail

Added: December 29th 2015
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1772
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by